fbpx Skip Navigation

Decision Making
The Decisive Instant

Centre culturel canadien
December 10th, 2021 - April 15th, 2022 10:00 - 18:00

Decision-Making-Canadian-Cultural-Centre-Culturel-Canadien-Tangible-Data-Johann-Baron-Lanteigne-Paris-Exposition-Exhibition-Art-Numerique-Digital-Artiste
Baron Lanteigne, Tangible Data Three, 2020

❗️ The Canadian Cultural Centre reopens its doors on January 17. Please note our new opening hours from Monday to Friday from 12pm to 5pm❗️

From December 10, 2021 to April 15, 2022, the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris presents “Decision Making: The Decisive Instant” as part of the official programme of Némo – International Biennial of Digital Arts of the Île-de-France Region produced by CENTQUATRE-PARIS, in partnership with Elektra (Montreal)

Decisions are the result of complex cognitive processes. Considering them collectively, as they involve our shared futures, makes them nothing less than crucial. But, more and more often, we include machines in such processes through decisional algorithms. Of course, this raises questions that artists know how to put into perspective. Because the age we are currently living in, a simple instant in the history of our planet, is decisive considering the choices available so we can move forward in a world ruled by the responsible and ethical development of Artificial Intelligence.

It is now that human rights are at stake, that we can decide what will emerge from the use of our personal data. Experiencing artworks created from decisive processes extracted from the invisible propels us into an immediate future that, for now, still belongs to us.

Produced by the Canadian Cultural Centre, the exhibition brings together fifteen artists, coming from Canada, France, Estonia, Germany, Finland and Spain: Baron LanteigneAram BarthollAdam BasantaVéronique BélandFrance CadetNaomi CookPascal DombisJean DuboisMarie-Eve LevasseurRafael Lozano-HemmerSabrina RattéDavid SpriggsMaija TammiVarvara & Mar

Curators: Dominique Moulon and Alain Thibault
Associated curator: Catherine Bédard

As part of Némo –  International Biennial of Digital Arts of the Île-de-France Region, by the CENTQUATRE-PARIS, from October 9, 2021 to January 9, 2022.

vignette teaser decision making
Teaser vidéo de l'exposition Decision Making - 1:10
vlcsnap-2021-12-09-12h16m01s654
Vidéo de l'exposition Decision Making - 10:52

Where

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

fbpx Skip Navigation

Decision Making
L’instant décisif

Centre culturel canadien
10 décembre 2021 - 15 avril 2022 10h00 - 18h00

Decision-Making-Canadian-Cultural-Centre-Culturel-Canadien-Tangible-Data-Johann-Baron-Lanteigne-Paris-Exposition-Exhibition-Art-Numerique-Digital-Artiste
Baron Lanteigne, tangible data three, 2020

Du 10 décembre 2021 au 15 avril 2022, le Centre culturel canadien à Paris présente « Decision Making : L’instant décisif », une exposition produite dans le cadre officiel de Némo, Biennale des Arts numériques d’Ile-de-France, en partenariat avec Elektra (Montréal).

Vernissage le 9 décembre sur réservation (plus d’informations à venir).

Les décisions sont issues de processus cognitifs complexes. Les envisager collectivement, quand elles engagent nos devenirs partagés, les rend rien moins que cruciales. Mais voilà que, de plus en plus, nous intégrons les machines dans de tels processus au travers d’algorithmes qualifiés de décisionnels. Ce qui n’est pas sans soulever des questions que les artistes savent mettre en perspective. Car l’époque que nous vivons, un simple instant au regard de la longue histoire de notre planète, est décisive considérant les choix qui s’offrent à nous pour un développement responsable de l’intelligence artificielle.

C’est donc maintenant que se jouent les droits humains quant à la gestion, par exemple, de ce qui émergera de nos données à toutes et tous. La prise en compte d’œuvres issues de processus décisionnels extirpés de l’invisible ne peut que nous projeter dans un futur immédiat qui nous appartient encore.

Produite par le Centre culturel canadien, l’exposition réunit quinze artistes venant du Canada, de France, d’Allemagne, d’Estonie, d’Espagne et de Norvège.

Commissaires : Dominique Moulon et Alain Thibault
Commissaire associée : Catherine Bédard

Dans le cadre de Némo – Biennale internationale des arts numériques de la Région Île-de-France, produite par le CENTQUATRE-PARIS, du 09 octobre 2021 au 09 janvier 2022.

Lieu

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Loading Map…