Skip Navigation

About

Jules Léger, Canada’s ambassador to France, first had the idea to create a Canadian Cultural Centre in France in order to introduce the richness and diversity of Canadian culture and thus reinforce the ties of friendship between Canada and France. The Canadian Cultural Centre was officially inaugurated on April 2, 1970, and for nearly half a century has endeavoured to promote Canadian culture in France.

Initially established on the Esplanade des Invalides in the 7th arrondissement of Paris, in the spring of 2018, the centre moved to 130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré in the 8th arrondissement of Paris in a post-Haussmannian building renovated by the Canadian and French architects Julian Smith and Jean-Paul Viguier. Integrated into the Embassy of Canada, it is in this unique setting that the special artistic encounters between Canada and France come to life.

The heart of Canadian cultural diplomacy in France, the Canadian Cultural Centre aims to promote the most innovative contemporary Canadian artforms through public and private institutional partnerships, and collaborations with various French festivals and events.

Endowed with a 160-square metre glass-roofed art gallery and an auditorium, the centre hosts exhibitions by Canadian contemporary artists, concerts by Canadian musicians of all genres, film screenings, lectures and events for young audiences throughout the year – all free. The centre also supports Canadian cultural programming all over France, helping Canadian and French institutions with their exchanges and cooperation.

With its unique programming focusing on the diversity and vitality of artistic voices, the Canadian Cultural Centre is a point of convergence for disciplines, languages and living cultures from all the provinces and territories of Canada.

The Canadian Cultural Centre has also been an active member of the Forum des Instituts Culturels Étrangers à Paris (FICEP) since its foundation in 2002.

Free Access. Opening hours: Monday to Friday, from 10am to 6pm. 

Centre culturel canadien - Ambassade Canada

Skip Navigation

À propos

Jules Léger, Ambassadeur du Canada en France, eut le premier l’idée de créer un Centre culturel canadien en France afin de faire découvrir toute la richesse de la diversité de la culture canadienne et ainsi renforcer les liens d’amitié entre le Canada et la France. Le Centre culturel canadien est officiellement inauguré le 2 avril 1970 et œuvre depuis bientôt un demi-siècle au rayonnement de la culture canadienne en France.

D’abord établi sur l’Esplanade des Invalides dans le 7ème arrondissement de Paris, le Centre a déménagé au printemps 2018 au 130, rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré dans le 8ème arrondissement de Paris dans un immeuble post-haussmannien réhabilité par les architectes canadien et français Julian Smith et Jean-Paul Viguier. Intégré à l’Ambassade du Canada, c’est dans ce cadre unique que prennent vie des rencontres artistiques privilégiées entre le Canada et la France.

Cœur de la diplomatie culturelle du Canada en France, le Centre culturel canadien a pour vocation de promouvoir la création contemporaine canadienne la plus innovante qui soit, tous secteurs artistiques confondus, par le biais de partenariats institutionnels publics et privés, de collaborations à divers festivals et événements publics français.

Doté d’une galerie d’art sous verrière de 160m2 et d’une salle de spectacle, le Centre accueille tout au long de l’année des expositions d’artistes contemporains canadiens, des concerts de musiciens canadiens de tous genres, des projections de films, des conférences et des événements pour le jeune public – tous offerts gratuitement. Le Centre soutient aussi une programmation culturelle canadienne à travers la France, accompagnant les institutions canadiennes et françaises dans leurs projets d’échanges et de coopérations.

Avec sa programmation unique axée sur la diversité et la vitalité des voix artistiques, le Centre culturel canadien est un point de convergence des disciplines, des langues et des cultures vivantes issues de toutes les provinces et territoires du Canada.

Le Centre culturel canadien est également un membre actif du Forum des instituts culturels étrangers à Paris (FICEP) depuis sa création en 2002.

L’accès au Centre Culturel Canadien est libre et gratuit et vous accueille du lundi au vendredi de 10h à 18h. Fermé samedi et dimanche.

Centre culturel canadien - Ambassade Canada