Skip Navigation

(Français) Domination coloniale et contrainte architecturale
(Français) Autour de l'exposition Shannon Bool - Conférence de Christelle Taraud et Zeynep Celik

Centre Culturel Canadien
March 25th, 2019
18:00 - 20:00

Shannon Bool

Promiscuous Rooms brings to the fore Bool’s current research on a series of erotic drawings made by Le Corbusier in Algeria during the 1930s. These coincided with the initial stages of the architect’s urban plan designs aimed at transforming Algiers into a modern imperial capital, thus asserting the French presence in North Africa.

Bool’s remarkable work raises several questions that must today challenge us.

Questions on the practice of architecture and urbanism: is the control of bodies not an important aspect of the (modern) practice of architecture and urban planning? In our area of #MeToo and “nudging” must we take a critical look at these architectural and urban practices?

Questions on the work of Le Corbusier: how did the champion of architectural modernism assimilate the orientalist tradition and in particular Islamist architecture? How did the specular fascination for the racialized bodies of colonial women influence the architect’s thinking. And how was the heterotopia of the brothel articulated within the Corbusean city?

We invite you to a dialogue between professors Christelle Taraud (author of Sex, Race and Colonies, and professor at Paris Panthéon-Sorbonne University and Columbia University) and Zeynep Celik (professor at Columbia University, specializing in the history of urban planning in the Orient) around the Shannon Bool exhibit Promiscuous rooms. Exchange hosted by Véronique Bouruet, curator and visual arts specialist.

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

Domination coloniale et contrainte architecturale
Autour de l'exposition Shannon Bool - Conférence de Christelle Taraud et Zeynep Celik

Centre Culturel Canadien
25 mars 2019
18h00 - 20h00

Réserver
Shannon Bool

L’exposition Promiscuités de Shannon Bool met de l’avant la recherche actuelle de l’artiste canadienne qui s’est intéressée aux dessins érotiques réalisés par Le Corbusier en Algérie à partir des années 1930. Ces dessins coïncident avec le moment où l’architecte entreprend la conception d’une série de plans d’urbanisme visant à transformer Alger en une capitale impériale moderne, affirmant la présence française en Afrique du Nord.

Ce travail remarquable de Bool pose plusieurs questions qui doivent aujourd’hui nous interpeller.

Questions concernant la pratique de l’architecture et de l’urbanisme : le contrôle des corps n’est-il pas une modalité importante de la pratique (moderne) de l’architecture et de l’urbanisme ?
A une époque de #MeToo et de « nudging » n’est-il pas impérieux de porter un regard critique sur ces pratiques architecturales et urbanistiques ?

Mais aussi questions concernant le travail de Le Corbusier : comment le chantre du modernisme architectural a-t-il assimilé la tradition orientaliste et en particulier l’architecture islamiste ? Comment la fascination spéculaire pour les corps racisés des femmes coloniales a-t-il travaillé la pensée de l’architecte. Et comment s’est articulé l’hétérotopie du bordel à celle de la ville corbuséenne ?

Nous vous invitons à participer à une discussion autour de ces questions avec les professeures Christelle Taraud (auteure de Sexe, Race et Colonies et professeure à l’Université Paris Panthéon-Sorbonne et Columbia University) et Zeynep Celik (professeure à Columbia University, spécialiste en histoire de l’urbanisme en Orient) autour de l’exposition Promiscuités de Shannon Bool. L’échange animé par Véronique Bouruet, commissaire et spécialiste des arts visuels.

Réserver

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…

Réservation

Billet standard