Skip Navigation

4th edition of the Global Migration Film Festival

Centre Culturel Canadien
February 06th, 2020
18:30 - 22:30

invitation_gmff_1
Haru's New Year
Haru's New Year, Alice Shin, 2018, Canada
Asma
Asma, de Kalian Lo, Olivia Casiri et Dominique Casiri, 2019, France

The Embassy of Canada in France, in partnership with the International Organization for Migration (IOM France), is proud to organize this evening as part of the 4th edition of the Global Migration Film Festival.

Screening followed by a debate in the presence of Olivia Casari, director of the film Asma and Mohamed Souleyman Ibrahim, actor of the film Asma.

 HARU’S NEW YEAR, by Alice Shin (2018, Canada)
English/Japanese, with English subtitles, 19 min

New year, new country, new school. Haru has a lot to adjust to in Canada, let alone figuring out how to make new friends while still missing the ones she left behind in Japan. Haru’s New Year’ is a short film about isolation, solitude and hope in a new land.

 

ASMA, by Kalian Lo, Olivia Casiri and Dominique Casiri (2019, France)
French/Arabic, with French subtitles, 38 min

ASMA, which means “listening” in Arabic, traces the exile of seven young refugees from Sudan to Châtellerault, France. The directors wanted to make the voices of these men who fled the hell of war and who are now asking for asylum to be heard. Always with modesty, sometimes in poetry, Adam and his friends show their sufferings but also their joy punctuated by hopes and disappointments.

Further information

You need to register here

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

Festival International du Film sur la Migration

Centre Culturel Canadien
06 février 2020
18h30 - 22h30

invitation_gmff_1
Haru's New Year
Haru's New Year, Alice Shin, 2018, Canada
Asma
Asma, de Kalian Lo, Olivia Casiri et Dominique Casiri, 2019, France

L’Ambassade du Canada en France, en partenariat avec l’Organisation Internationale pour les Migrations (OIM France), est fière d’organiser cette soirée dans le cadre de la 4e édition du Festival International du Film sur la Migration.

Projection de deux courts métrages: « Haru’s New Year » et « ASMA ». Elle sera suivie d’une discussion sur le rôle du cinéma sur les questions migratoires en présence d’Olivia Casari, réalisatrice du film Asm et Mohamed Souleyman Ibrahim, acteur du film Asma.

HARU’S NEW YEAR, d’Alice Shin (2018, Canada)
anglais/japonais, sous-titré anglais, durée 19 min

Nouvelle année, nouveau pays, nouvelle école. Haru a beaucoup de choses auxquelles elle doit s’adapter au Canada, sans parler de savoir comment se faire de nouveaux amis tout en regrettant ceux qu’elle a laissés au Japon. Haru’s New Year’ est un court métrage sur l’isolement, la solitude et l’espoir dans un nouveau pays.

ASMA, de Kalian Lo, Olivia Casiri et Dominique Casiri (2019, France)
français/arabe, sous-titré français, durée 38 min

ASMA qui signifie « écoute » en arabe, retrace l’exil de sept jeunes réfugiés depuis le Soudan jusqu’à Châtellerault, en France. Les réalisatrices ont souhaité faire entendre la parole de ces hommes qui ont fui l’enfer de la guerre et qui demandent aujourd’hui le droit d’asile. Toujours avec pudeur, parfois en poésie, Adam et ses amis donnent à voir leurs souffrances mais aussi leur joie ponctuée d’espoirs et de désillusions.

Plus d’infos

Inscription obligatoire ici

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…