Skip Navigation

Hazel Meyer and Christine Shaw

Centre Culturel Canadien
May 27th, 2019
20:00 - 21:30

Hazel Meyer
Hazel Meyer, Archival non-archival (detail) from Muscle Panic, 2019. Courtesy the artist.
Capture d’écran 2019-04-24 à 11.41.13

A conversation between Canadian artist Hazel Meyer and Canadian curator Christine Shaw about the TAKE CAREexhibition presented at Ferme du Buisson until 21 July 2019.

This talk by Meyer and Shaw will pivot on a line from a poem by Canadian poet Lisa Robertson, “Our spit is the fluid of politics,” in order to draw out the relational, world-building capacities at play in their respective practices.

Hazel Meyer is an interdisciplinary artist who works with installation, performance, and text to investigate the relationships between sport, sexuality, feminism, and material culture. Her work aims to recover the queer aesthetics, politics, and bodies often effaced within histories of sports and recreation. Drawing on archival research, she designs immersive installations that bring various troublemakers—lesbians-feminists, gender outlaws, leather-dykes—into the performative spaces of athletics.  She often works collaboratively with her partner, media historian Cait McKinney. Together they explore their shared attachments to queer histories and accessibility politics through research, writing, video and archival interventions.

Christine Shaw is Director/Curator of the Blackwood Gallery and Assistant Professor in the Department of Visual Studies at the University of Toronto Mississauga. Her programming direction takes a critical stance on social, political, and ecological urgencies, sets out to develop durable visual-cultural literacies, and invites publics to create new encounters in the common struggle for a future.Her commitment to curatorial experimentation and social resilience has been applied to long-term collaborative projects including TAKE CARE, an exhibition series involving artists, activists, careworkers, curators, and researchers critically engaging the crisis of care at Ferme du Buisson (2019) and Blackwood Gallery (2017–18).

In the TAKE CARE exhibition at Ferme du Buisson, ten artists question how art, activism, mutual aid, feminism, Indigenous knowledge, queer desire, creative survival, and a closer relationship to the land can contribute to a better recognition of care as a social and cultural force.

 

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

Hazel Meyer et Christine Shaw

Centre Culturel Canadien
27 mai 2019
20h00 - 21h30

Hazel Meyer
Hazel Meyer, Archival non-archival (detail) from Muscle Panic, 2019. Courtesy the artist.
Capture d’écran 2019-04-24 à 11.41.13

Discussion entre l’artiste canadienne Hazel Meyer et la commissaire d’exposition canadienne Christine Shaw autour de l’exposition TAKE CARE présentée à la Ferme du Buisson jusqu’au 21 juillet 2019.

Cette conversation entre Meyer et Shaw s’articulera autour du vers de la poétesse canadienne Lisa Robertson, « Notre salive est le fluide de la politique », afin de mettre en lumière les capacités relationnelles, socialement constructives de leurs pratiques respectives.

Hazel Meyer est artiste et passionnée de sport. Sa pratique plastique et socialement engagée donne lieu à des installations qui deviennent des environnements pour des performances par des athlètes amateurs. Dans ses installations, ses performances et ses œuvres textuelles, l’artiste bouscule nos suppositions sur le genre et les corps, en particulier celles généralement associées au sport. Elle réinterroge les relations entre sport, sexualité, féminisme et culture matérielle. Son travail s’attache à réhabiliter des corps, des esthétiques et des politiques queer, souvent effacés de l’histoire du sport et des loisirs. À partir d’une recherche en archives, elle conçoit des installations immersives qui introduisent divers perturbatrices – lesbiennes-féministes, hors-la-loi du genre, butch pur cuir—dans les espaces performatifs du sport. Elle travaille souvent en collaboration avec sa partenaire, l’historienne des média Cait McKinney. Ensemble, elles explorent leurs attachements partagés aux histoires queer et à leur accessibilité publique à travers la recherche, l’écriture, la vidéo et les interventions archivistes.

Christine Shaw est directrice/commissaire d’exposition de la Blackwood Gallery et professeure adjointe au Département d’études en arts visuels de l’université de Toronto Mississauga. Son orientation de programme adopte une position critique à l’égard des urgences sociales, politiques et écologiques, se voue à développer des savoirs culturels-visuels durables et invite les publics à créer des rencontres inédites dans une lutte commune pour se dessiner un avenir. Son engagement pour développer un commissariat d’exposition expérimental et la résilience sociale s’est concrétisé dans des projets collaboratifs de longue durée tels que TAKE CARE, une série d’expositions invitant des artistes, activistes, soignants, curateurs d’art et chercheurs à s’exprimer de façon critique sur la crise du soin à la Ferme du Buisson (2019) et à la Blackwood Gallery (2017-18).

À travers l’exposition TAKE CARE, dix artistes nous interrogent sur la manière dont l’art, l’activisme, l’entraide collective, les pratiques féministes, la culture queer, les savoirs autochtones, ou une relation plus étroite à la terre, peuvent contribuer à une meilleure reconnaissance du care (soin) comme force sociale et culturelle.

Conférence en anglais.

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…