Skip Navigation

Joséphine Bacon
Virtual encounter

October 22nd, 2020
19:00 - 20:00

Joséphine Bacon
Joséphine Bacon - Portrait par Benoît Rochon

Joséphine Bacon’s poetry is a tribute to her land, her ancestors and the Innu-aimun language. She carries within her Nutshimit, Land of Ancestors. A nomad of the tundra, she takes us on a journey through unknown territories with her poetry. A cosmogonic vision that plunges us into the intensity of the words of the elders: the itinerary of the bearers of dreams and visions, the horizons of women guides, the courage of men hunters, the children, guarantors of the continuity of the journey, and the trees, tireless witnesses of the road. The horizon opens with such grace and naturalness that we are forever indebted to it to remind us of the essential: beauty, simplicity and voluptuousness.

I got all dressed up
so that the marrow of my bones
would be noticed,
survivor of a story
nobody tells.

(Extract from Message Sticks /Tshissinuashitakana, 2009, Ed. Mémoire d’encrier)

This virtual encounter is moderated by Sophie Barthélémy of Mémoire d’encrier.
Joséphine Bacon reads extracts of poems in French and Innu-aimun from the collections Message Sticks/Tshissinuashitakana (2009), A tea in the tundra/Nipishapui nete mushuat (2013) and Uiesh/Quelque part (2018) published by Mémoire d’encrier.

Biography
Born in 1947, Joséphine Bacon is an Innu poet from Pessamit in the North Shore region of Quebec. As a director and lyricist, she has worked as a translator and interpreter with Elders, those who hold traditional knowledge, and has wisely learned to listen to their words. With Mémoire d’encrier, she published Message Sticks/Tshissinuashitakana (2009), then, in collaboration with José Acquelin, Nous sommes tous des sauvages (2011) and, in 2013, A tea in the tundra/Nipishapui nete mushuat (Finalist for the Governor General’s Award and the Grand Prix du livre de Montréal). Joséphine Bacon received the 2018 Fetkann Maryse Condé Award and the 2019 Quebec Bookstore Award in the poetry categories for her collection Uiesh/Quelque part published in 2018. She is constantly working for the transmission of her language and culture throughout the world.

As part of Women’s History Month in Canada

Join us on October 22 at 7 pm on our Facebook Page.

Skip Navigation

Joséphine Bacon
Rencontre virtuelle

22 octobre 2020
19h00 - 20h00

Joséphine Bacon
Joséphine Bacon - Portrait par Benoît Rochon

La poésie de Joséphine Bacon est un hommage au territoire, aux ancêtres et à la langue innu-aimun. Elle porte en elle Nutshimit, Terre des ancêtres. Nomade de la toundra, elle nous fait parcourir, à la lumière du poème, des territoires inconnus. Une vision cosmogonique qui nous plonge dans l’intensité de la parole des aînés : l’itinéraire des porteurs de rêves et de visions, les horizons des femmes guides, le courage des hommes chasseurs, les enfants garants de la continuité du voyage et les arbres, infatigables témoins de la route. L’horizon est ouvert avec tant de grâce et de naturel que nous lui sommes à jamais redevables de nous rappeler à l’essentiel : beauté, simplicité et volupté.

Je me suis faite belle
pour qu’on remarque
la moelle de mes os
survivante d’un récit
qu’on ne raconte pas.

(Recueil Bâtons à message/Tshissinuashitakana, 2009, Ed. Mémoire d’encrier)

Cette rencontre virtuelle est animée par Sophie Barthélémy des éditions Mémoire d’encrier. Joséphine Bacon lit des extraits de poèmes en français et en innu-aimun des recueils Bâtons à message/Tshissinuashitakana (2009), Un thé dans la toundra/Nipishapui nete mushuat (2013) et Uiesh/Quelque part (2018) parus aux éditions Mémoire d’encrier.

Biographie :
Née en 1947, Joséphine Bacon est une poète innue originaire de Pessamit dans la région de la Côte Nord au Québec. Réalisatrice et parolière, elle a travaillé comme traductrice-interprète auprès des aînés, ceux et celles qui détiennent le savoir traditionnel et, avec sagesse, elle a appris à écouter leur parole. Chez Mémoire d’encrier, elle a publié Bâtons à message/Tshissinuashitakana (2009) puis, en collaboration avec José Acquelin, Nous sommes tous des sauvages (2011) et, en 2013, Un thé dans la toundra/Nipishapui nete mushuat (Finaliste du Prix du Gouverneur général et du Grand Prix du livre de Montréal). Joséphine Bacon a reçu le prix Fetkann Maryse Condé 2018 et le prix des libraires du Québec 2019 dans les catégories poésie pour son recueil Uiesh/Quelque part paru en 2018. Elle œuvre en permanence pour la transmission de sa langue et de sa culture dans le monde entier.

Dans le cadre du Mois de l’histoire des femmes au Canada

Rendez-vous le 22 octobre à 19h sur notre Page Facebook.