Skip Navigation

The Night of Literature – FICEP
Encounter with Naomi Fontaine - Virtual Event

Centre culturel Canadien
May 30th, 2020
19:00 - 20:00

Naomi-Fontaine-c-LKPS-2017
Naomi Fontaine, 2017, Photo : droits réservés

“Promise me to listen until the last light of day” –
Shuni: What you need to know, Julie / Naomi Fontaine

On May 30th, join us for “The Night of Literature” organised by FICEP. For this  first-ever virtual edition, join all the foreign cultural centres from 6pm on the FICEP Paris website and social networks. 

Discover Canadian 🇨🇦  Innu author de Uashat, Naomi Fontaine. She will present and read excerpts from her latest book Shuni • What you need to know, Julie.

👉 FICEP Facebook page and website
In partnership with FICEP and Mémoire d’encrier

Excerpt:
Naomi Fontaine writes a long letter to Shuni, a Quebecker who came to help the Innu community. She brings to life the history of her people. The faces of the mother, father and grandmother emerge. She takes the opportunity to address her son, Little Bear. The landscapes of Uashat roll by, fragmented, radiant. She tells the story of the doubt that undermines the heart of the colonized, the impossible struggle to be oneself. Shuni • What you need to know, Julie, this fragile and tender letter, speaks of the strength to invent the future, the light of truth. Life is a circle where everything begins again. 

Biography:
Naomi Fontaine is an Innu from Uashat, Québec. She published Kuessipan in 2011 (Mémoire d’encrier). Adapted to the cinema by Max Films (theatrical release October 4, 2019), Kuessipan was a real success. Her second novel Manikanetish, published in 2017 (Mémoire d’encrier), recounts her experience as a teacher at the Manikanetish school and was critically acclaimed. The novel is in development at ZONE3 for a Radio-Canada television series. Promise me to listen until the last light of day, Julie is her third title.

Where

Centre culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

La Nuit de la Littérature – FICEP
Rencontre avec Naomi Fontaine - Événement virtuel

Centre culturel Canadien
30 mai 2020
19h00 - 20h00

Naomi-Fontaine-c-LKPS-2017
Naomi Fontaine, 2017, Photo : droits réservés

“Promets-moi de m’écouter jusqu’à la dernière lueur du jour”
Shuni • Ce que tu dois savoir, Julie / Naomi Fontaine

Le 30 mai, la littérature est à l’honneur avec la Nuit de la littérature organisée par le FICEP. Pour cette dernière édition virtuelle, rejoignez dès 18h l’ensemble des centres culturels étrangers sur le site internet et les réseaux sociaux du FICEP Paris. 

A 19h, découvrez en vidéo l’autrice canadienne 🇨🇦  innue de Uashat, Naomi Fontaine. Elle présentera et lira des extraits de son dernier ouvrage Shuni • Ce que tu dois savoir, Julie.

👉 Page Facebook et site internet du FICEP.
En partenariat avec le FICEP et Mémoire d’encrier

Extrait :
Naomi Fontaine écrit une longue lettre à Shuni, une Québécoise venue dans sa communauté pour aider les Innus. Elle convoque l’histoire. Surgissent les visages de la mère, du père, de la grand-mère. Elle en profite pour s’adresser à Petit ours, son fils. Les paysages de Uashat défilent, fragmentés, radieux. Elle raconte le doute qui mine le cœur des colonisés, l’impossible combat d’être soi. Shuni • Ce que tu dois savoir, Julie, cette lettre fragile et tendre, dit la force d’inventer l’avenir, la lumière de la vérité. La vie est un cercle où tout recommence.

Biographie :
Naomi Fontaine est innue de Uashat, au Québec. Elle a publié Kuessipan en 2011 (Mémoire d’encrier). Adapté au cinéma par Max Films (sortie en salle le 4 octobre 2019), Kuessipan a connu un véritable succès. Son deuxième roman Manikanetish, publié en 2017 (Mémoire d’encrier), raconte son expérience d’enseignante à l’école Manikanetish et a été acclamé par la critique. Le roman est en développement chez ZONE3 pour une série télé à Radio-Canada. Shuni Ce que tu dois savoir, Julie est son troisième titre.

Lieu

Centre culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…