Skip Navigation

50/50 Series – Encounter #2: Nadia Myre and her tree in clay for Paris
Facebook Event

Centre Culturel Canadien
October 29th, 2020
21:00 - 22:00

aperçuvideo 50-50 Nadia Myre
Vidéo Série 50/50 – Rencontre #2 : Nadia Myre et son arbre d’argile pour Paris
Nadia-Myre

As part of its 50th anniversary, the Canadian Cultural Centre has launched a brand new schedule of 50 successive virtual encounters with Canadian artists.

In connection with an event, a project or an important theme, the artists introduce themselves to us in their daily space of thought, creation and work. An unprecedented invitation of around thirty minutes, without editing, into the private space of a studio.

An Indigenous artist based in Montreal, whose work has been shown internationally for many years, Nadia Myre talks about her work that deals with identity, resilience and politics of belonging. She will introduce us to Tree of Shifting Forms, a major work rising in the Embassy of Canada in France’s courtyard and created at the occasion of the opening of its new building, in 2018, that now shelters the Canadian Cultural Centre.

Nadia Myre is currently exhibited in Image…Sent, our 50th anniversary exhibition.

Biography:

Based in Montreal, Nadia Myre is a nationally renowned interdisciplinary artist and Algonquin member of the Kitigan Zibi Anishnabeg First Nation. As exemplified by seminal works Indian Act (2002), and The Scar Project (2005–2013), her work explores the politics of belonging by positioning it within a framework of Indigenous resistance and resilience.

She has an extensive exhibition history, with over 115 shows – 25 of which have been solos in the last 10 years. Her work can be found in the Canadian embassies of New York, London, Paris and Greece. Most recent exhibitions include Balancing Acts (Textile Museum, Toronto, 2019), Show Me Your Wound (Dom Wein, Vienna, 2018/19), Code Switching and Other Work (The Briggait, Glasgow International, 2018), Tout ce qui reste/Scattered Remains (Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, 2017–18).

Myre is the recipient of numerous commissions and awards, notably the 2014 Sobey Art Award for Canadian artists under 40, and Compagne de l’Ordre des arts et des lettres du Québec (2019).

Joins us on October 29 at 9 pm on our Facebook Page.

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

Série 50/50 – Rencontre #2 : Nadia Myre et son arbre d’argile pour Paris
Evénement Facebook

Centre Culturel Canadien
29 octobre 2020
21h00 - 22h00

aperçuvideo 50-50 Nadia Myre
Vidéo Série 50/50 – Rencontre #2 : Nadia Myre et son arbre d’argile pour Paris
Nadia-Myre

Dans le cadre de son 50e anniversaire, le Centre culturel canadien a lancé une toute nouvelle programmation de 50 rendez-vous virtuels successifs avec des artistes canadiens.

A l’occasion d’un événement, d’un projet ou d’un thème important, un ou une artiste se présente à nous, dans son espace quotidien de réflexion, de création et de travail. Un rendez-vous inédit d’une trentaine de minutes, sans montage, dans l’espace privé de l’atelier.

Artiste autochtone installée à Montréal, dont l’œuvre est présentée depuis de nombreuses années sur la scène internationale, Nadia Myre nous parle de son travail qui aborde les questions d’identité, de résilience et les politiques d’appartenance.  Elle évoquera en particulier la création de Tree of Shifting Forms, une œuvre magistrale occupant la cour de l’Ambassade du Canada en France et créée à l’occasion de l’inauguration en 2018 de ce nouveau bâtiment qui abrite désormais le Centre culturel canadien.

Nadia Myre est actuellement exposée dans Image…envoyée, notre exposition du 50ème anniversaire du Centre culturel canadien.

Biographie :

Basée à Montréal, Nadia Myre est une artiste interdisciplinaire de renommée internationale et membre de la Première Nation Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg. À l’instar d’œuvres séminales telles que Indian Act (2002) et The Scar Project (2005-2013), son art explore la politique de l’appartenance positionné dans un cadre à l’intersection de la résistance et de la résilience autochtones. Elle a un remarquable historique d’expositions, avec plus de 115 événements, dont 25 individuellement au cours des dernières dix années.

Ses œuvres sont présentes dans les Ambassades du Canada de New York, Londres, Paris et Athènes. Ses expositions les plus récentes comprennent : Balancing Acts (Textile Museum of Canada, Toronto, 2019), Show Me Your Wound (Dom Wein, Vienne, 2018/19), Code Switching and Other Work (The Briggait, Festival Glasgow International, 2018), Tout ce qui reste/Scattered Remains (Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, 2017/18).

Nadia Myre est lauréate de nombreuses commandes publiques et récompenses, notamment le Prix Sobey pour les arts 2014, destiné aux artistes canadiens de moins de 40 ans, et l’Ordre des arts et des lettres du Québec (Compagne, 2019).

Rendez-vous le 29 octobre à 21h sur notre Page Facebook.

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…