Skip Navigation

PONTEIX
Virtual concert

Centre culturel Canadien
May 21st, 2020
19:00 - 19:30

Photo presse PONTEIX_BASTION copieLR
Ponteix - Photo : droits réservés
PONTEIX 2

On May 21st at 7pm, join us for a Facebook Watch Party for an exclusive concert!

The project PONTEIX of Fransaskois artist Mario Lepage disrupts musical conventions by mixing electronic cadences with indie rock and psyche-pop hues. PONTEIX breaks language barriers to give way to the most powerful element of music… emotions.

His album Bastion, released in 2018, is a reference to the isolation and resilience of small Francophone communities in Western Canada. In an interview given to Indie Music in January 2020, Mario Lepage explains: “[This album] is an exploration of my heritage and my culture, being a Francophone in a place that is predominantly Anglophone, I have always felt a bit like being in an in-between in relation to other Francophone cultures… I wanted to legitimize my culture, my heritage not only for myself, but also for all Francophones who have forgotten that the Francophonie exists in Canada outside Quebec. It was a project that allowed me to better understand where I come from and to share it with the world”.

With Bastion, Ponteix aims for an intense production that mixes saturated electronic cadences that give way to percussive rhythms wrapped in textures of aerial synthesizer and luminous guitars. Lepage’s hypnotic, hovering melodies are a perfect match for the psychedelic-pop indie rock that Ponteix offers.

Join us on our Facebook Page!
Further information – PONTEIX’s website

Where

Centre culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

PONTEIX
Concert virtuel

Centre culturel Canadien
21 mai 2020
19h00 - 19h30

Photo presse PONTEIX_BASTION copieLR
Ponteix - Photo : droits réservés
PONTEIX 2

Le 21 mai à 19h, rejoignez-nous pour une Facebook Watch Party pour un concert exceptionnel ! 

Le projet PONTEIX de l’artiste fransaskois Mario Lepage bouscule les conventions musicales en alliant cadences électro, rock-indie et psyché-pop. PONTEIX brise la barrière des langues pour laisser place à l’élément le plus puissant dans la musique… l’émotion. 

Son album Bastion, sorti en 2018, a été notamment créé en référence à l’isolement et la résilience des petites communautés francophones de l’Ouest canadien. Dans une entrevue donnée à Indie Music en janvier 2020, Mario Lepage explique : “[Cet album] est une exploration de mon héritage et de ma culture, en étant francophone dans un lieu qui est majoritairement anglophone, je me suis toujours senti un peu comme dans un entre-deux par rapport aux autres cultures francophones. … J’avais envie de légitimer ma culture, mon héritage envers moi-même, mais aussi envers les francophones qui ont oublié que la francophonie existait au Canada ailleurs qu’au Québec. Ce fut un projet de recherche pour arriver à mieux comprendre d’où je viens et à le partager avec le monde”.

Avec Bastion, Ponteix revendique une approche maximale de la réalisation en cimentant un mur de cadences électroniques saturées qui cède le passage aux rythmes percussifs enveloppés de textures de synthétiseur aérien et de guitares lumineuses. Les mélodies planantes et hypnotiques de Lepage survolent parfaitement le rock indie aux teintes psyché-pop que propose Ponteix.

Rendez-vous sur la page Facebook du Centre culturel canadien !
Plus d’infos – site PONTEIX

Lieu

Centre culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…