fbpx Skip Navigation

Sabrina Ratté. A reflection on the collective imagination of the future
50/50 Series - Encounter #5

Centre culturel canadien
May 24th, 2022 18:00 - 23:45

crédit Alicia Dubuis
Aliquid- Sabrina Ratté

Starting in 2020, for its 50th anniversary, the Canadian Cultural Centre launched a new schedule of 50 virtual encounters with Canadian artists. In connection with an event, a project or to discuss current issues, our curator brings us into the world of these artists, during an interview filmed remotely, from the artist’s studio. Each interview contributes to an “in progress” portrait of Canadian art as it pertains to the Canada-France relationship.

On May 24 at 6pm the Canadian Cultural Centre invites you to a virtual conversation with Canadian artist Sabrina Ratté. Join us for this conversation on our Facebook Page and Youtube Channel (French with English subtitles).

From an approach that intertwines various image technologies, analog and digital, Sabrina Ratté creates virtual worlds that address our mind, our imagination, our unsconscious.  She shows us the power of the malleability of images and the hypnotic effects of the modelling impulses that technological attraction brings.  Very present in the landscape of digital art in France in recent years, exhibited by the Canadian Cultural Centre as part of its recent participation in NEMO, the Biennale internationale des arts numériques d’Ile de France, Sabrina Ratté is at the Gaité Lyrique in Paris until July 10, 2022.

 Sabrina Ratté is a Canadian artist who spent the past years in France. Her practice includes video, animation, installations, sculptures, audio-visual performances, prints and Virtual Reality. Mixing analog technologies, photography and 3D animation, she investigates the influence of digital and physical spaces and the interplay between these surroundings and subjectivity. She was shortlisted for the Sobey Art Award (CAN) in 2019 and 2020 and she is represented by Charlot Gallery in Paris and Ellephant Gallery in Montreal.  Her work has been presented internationally by various institutions including Laforet Museum (Tokyo), Centre Pompidou (Paris), Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec (Quebec City), Thoma Foundation (Santa Fe), PHI Center (Montreal), Whitney Museum of Art (New York), Chronus Art Center, (Shanghai), Museum of the Moving Image (New York), Canadian Cultural Centre (Paris) and Gaité Lyrique (Paris).

Where

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

fbpx Skip Navigation

Sabrina Ratté. Une réflexion sur l’imaginaire collectif du futur
Série 50/50 - Rencontre #5

Centre culturel canadien
24 mai 2022 18h00 - 23h45

crédit Alicia Dubuis
Aliquid- Sabrina Ratté

Dans le cadre de son 50e anniversaire en 2020, le Centre culturel canadien a lancé une programmation de 50 rendez-vous virtuels avec des artistes canadiens. A l’occasion d’un événement, d’un projet, ou pour parler d’enjeux actuels, notre commissaire nous fait entrer dans le monde de ces artistes, le temps d’un entretien tourné à distance, depuis l’atelier de l’artiste. Un rendez-vous inédit dont chaque morceau contribue à un portrait « in progress » de l’art canadien dans le contexte spécifique de la relation Canada-France.    

 Le mardi 24 mai à 18h, le Centre culturel canadien vous invite pour une rencontre virtuelle avec l’artiste canadienne Sabrina Ratté. Rejoignez-nous sur notre Page Facebook et notre chaîne Youtube pour une rencontre en français (sous-titrée en anglais). 

A partir d’une approche qui entrecroise diverses technologies de l’image, analogiques et numériques, Sabrina Ratté créée des mondes virtuels qui s’adressent à notre esprit, à notre imaginaire, à notre inconscient. Elle nous montre le pouvoir de la malléabilité de l’image et les effets hypnotiques des pulsions de modélisations qu’entraîne l’attraction technologique. Très présente dans le paysage de l’art numérique en France ces dernières années, exposée par le Centre culturel canadien dans le cadre de ses récentes participations à NEMO, Biennale internationale des arts numériques d’Ile de France, elle occupe les espaces de la Gaîté Lyrique à Paris jusqu’au 10 juillet 2022.

Sabrina Ratté est une artiste canadienne. Après plusieurs années passées en France, elle se réinstalle cette année à Montréal. Sa pratique s’intéresse aux multiples manifestations de l’image numérique: la vidéo analogique, l’animation 3D, la photographie, l’impression, la sculpture, la réalité virtuelle et l’installation. L’intégration continuelle de nouvelles techniques appuie formellement les thèmes qui traversent ses oeuvres tels que l’influence psychologique qu’exerce l’architecture et l’environnement numérique sur notre perception du monde ainsi que la relation que nous entretenons avec l’aspect virtuel de l’existence. Elle a été nominée pour le Prix Sobey pour les arts en 2019 et 2020. Ses oeuvres ont été présentées internationalement par plusieurs institutions dont le Musée Laforet (Tokyo), le Centre Pompidou (Paris), le Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec (Québec), Thoma Foundation (Santa Fe), le Centre PHI (Montreal), Whitney Museum of Art (New York), Chronus Art Center, (Shanghai), Museum of the Moving Image (New York), le Centre culturel canadien (Paris) et la Gaité lyrique (Paris).

Lieu

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Loading Map…