fbpx Skip Navigation

50/50 Series – Encounter #3: Larissa Fassler, surveyor
50/50 Series – Encounter #3

Centre culturel canadien
March 04th, 2021 20:00 - 21:00

Larissa Fassler Moritzplatz Forms of Brutality 2019 photo Dirk Herzog
Larissa Fassler, Moritzplatz Forms of Brutality, 2019
Crédit : Dirk Herzog

As part of its 50th anniversary, the Canadian Cultural Centre has launched a brand new series of 50 virtual encounters with Canadian artists. In connection with an event, a project or an important theme, the artists introduce themselves to us in their daily space of thought, creation and work. You’ll enjoy an intimate visit, for about thirty minutes, uncut, into the private space of a studio.

As March 8 & Women International Day are coming, the Canadian Cultural Centre invites you on March 4 at 8pm for a virtual encounter with Canadian artist Larissa Fassler. The encounter will be held in English with French subtitles, and will be available on our Facebook Page and Youtube Channel.

Paris has a key role in Larissa Fassler’s works on big European public places. A keenobserver of the spaces of circulation and stagnation, of economic and social tensions, of issues of race, gender, identity, precariousness, power, the artist talks here about the way she approached, perceived and decided to represent Place de la Concorde, Gare du Nord and suburban neighborhood in Noisy-le-Sec.  

Larissa Fassler was born in Vancouver in 1975. She lives and works in Berlin.
Larissa Fassler’s work evolves from a social and practical approach to architecture.  It is constructed out of a mass of topographic tracking, sketches, observations, and feelings that she experiences on site, and that are then synthesised into large graphic compositions, models, and sculptures. Her work is organised in series based upon specific urban sites. She explores the threshold between space, volume, and the ways in which those places are perceived, experienced, and practised.
Larissa Fassler is represented by Galerie Jérôme Poggi in Paris that exhibited her work in 2011, 2016 and just recently in 2021 (Ground Control), in echo to her show Urban Fabrics at La Galerie-Centre d’art contemporain de Noisy-le-Sec presented until March 20, 2021. The Currier Museum of Art in Manchester (NH, USA) is also currently presenting the work she did during an artist residency in 2019. Among other venues are : Canadian Cultural Center (2016), Esker Foundation Contemporary Art Gallery in Calgary (2016), EPICENTRE (2015) and SEPTEMBER (2014) in Berlin, Kunstraum Kreuzberg, Berlin (2013), Kunstverien Kristansand in Norway ( 2011), Kunsthalle Dusseldorf (2011), Today Art Museum Beijing (2008).
Larissa Fassler’s work is part of several collections: Le Fonds régional d’art contemporain de la région Auvergne (FRAC), le Fonds municipal d’art contemporain de la Ville de Paris (FMAC), Staatliches Museum Schwerin, Deutsche Bank Collection, FPM collection, Berlin, National Library of Quebec, Artist books collection, Montreal, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa. (source Galerie Jérôme Poggi).

Virtual Encounter as part of Women International Day 2021.

Larissa Fassler - video 50-50
Série 50/50 – Rencontre #3 : Larissa Fassler, l’arpenteuse - 35:56

Where

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

Série 50/50 – Rencontre #3 : Larissa Fassler, l’arpenteuse

Centre Culturel Canadien
04 mars 2021 20h00 - 21h00

Larissa Fassler Moritzplatz Forms of Brutality 2019 photo Dirk Herzog
Larissa Fassler, Moritzplatz Forms of Brutality, 2019
Crédit : Dirk Herzog

Dans le cadre de son 50e anniversaire, le Centre culturel canadien a lancé une toute nouvelle programmation de 50 rendez-vous virtuels successifs avec des artistes canadiens. A l’occasion d’un événement, d’un projet ou d’un thème important, un ou une artiste se présente à nous, dans son espace quotidien de réflexion, de création et de travail. Un rendez-vous inédit d’une trentaine de minutes, sans montage, dans l’espace privé de l’atelier.   

À l’approche du 8 mars et de la Journée Internationale des Femmes, le Centre culturel canadien vous invite le 4 mars à 20h pour une rencontre virtuelle avec l’artiste canadienne Larissa Fassler. La rencontre se tiendra en anglais, sous-titrée en français, et sera accessible sur Facebook et Youtube.

Parmi les travaux de Larissa Fassler sur les grandes places publiques européennes, Paris joue un rôle majeur. Observatrice des espaces de circulation et de stagnation, des tensions économiques et sociales, des enjeux de race, de genre, d’identité, de précarité, de pouvoir, l’artiste nous parle de la manière dont elle a abordé, perçu et décidé de représenter la Place de la Concorde, la Gare du Nord et un quartier de la banlieue de Noisy-le-Sec. 

Larissa Fassler est née en 1975 à Vancouver. Elle vit et travaille à Berlin.
Si le travail de Larissa Fassler entretient un rapport évident avec l’architecture, il se construit essentiellement sur un ensemble de relevés et d’impressions dont l’artiste fait l’expérience, et qu’elle synthétise dans de grandes compositions graphiques, maquettes ou sculptures. Son travail est organisé en séries, construites autour de sites urbains spécifiques. Elle en explore le seuil entre l’espace et les volumes, la manière dont ils sont investis et exploités.

Larissa Fassler est représentée par la Galerie Jérôme Poggi, à Paris, qui a exposé son travail en 2011, 2016 et tout récemment en 2021 (Ground Control), en écho à l’exposition Tissus urbains à La Galerie-Centre d’art contemporain de Noisy-le-Sec présentée jusqu’au 20 mars 2021. The Currier Museum of Art à Manchester (NH, USA) présente actuellement le travail réalisé lors d’une résidence artistique en 2019. Parmi les autres expositions, notons : le Centre Culturel Canadien à Paris (2016), la Esker Foundation Contemporary Art Gallery à Calgary (2016), EPICENTRE (2015) et SEPTEMBER (2014) à Berlin, la Kunstraum Kreuzberg à Berlin (2013), la Kunstverien Kristansand en Norvège (2011), la Kunsthalle de Dusseldorf (2011), le Today Art Museum de Pékin (2008).
Les œuvres de Larissa Fassler font partie de plusieurs collections publiques dont le Fonds régional d’art contemporain de la région Auvergne (FRAC), le Fonds municipal d’art contemporain de la Ville de Paris (FMAC), Staatliches Museum Schwerin, Deutsche Bank Collection, FPM collection, Berlin, la Bibliothèque nationale de Québec, collection des livres d’artistes, Montréal, et le Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada, à Ottawa. (source Galerie Jérôme Poggi).

Rencontre virtuelle dans le cadre de la Journée internationale des Femmes #JIF2021.

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…