Skip Navigation

Maria Hupfield
The One Who Keeps On Giving

Centre Culturel Canadien
September 26th, 2018 - January 18th, 2019

Maria Hupfield - Vidéo
Maria Hupfield, vue d‘installation / installation view : The Power Plant, Toronto 2017. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et de la / Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal. Photo: Toni Hafkenscheid
Maria Hupfield - Canoë
Maria Hupfield, Jiiman (Canoe / Canot), vue d‘installation / installation view : The Power Plant, Toronto 2017. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et de la / Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal. Photo: Toni Hafkenscheid
Maria Hupfield - Bottes
Maria Hupfield, Snowmobile Suit for the Hudson (Habit de motoneige pour l’Hudson), 2013. Photo : Toni Hafkenscheid.

Opening Tuesday September 25, 2018, from 6.00 pm to 8.30 pm (last entrance 8:00 pm) as part of the Semaine des Cultures Étrangères.

At 7.00 pm, performance by Maria Hupfield with Nive Nielsen, Inuk artist, singer and actress from Greenland (and her band The Deer Children).

On September 26, from 3:30 pm to 6:30 pm : exploring Maria Hupfield’s work and guided tour of the exhibition (by reservation).

After the very first exhibition in its new spaces at 130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, featuring the work of Kent Monkman, a Toronto-based artist of Cree origin, the Canadian Cultural Centre opens its 2018-2019 artistic programme with an Indigenous artist from the Wasauksing Nation (an Anishinaabe people settled along the Georgian Bay in the Northern reaches of Toronto, ON), now established in Brooklyn. This second project highlights the importance the Canadian Cultural Centre wants to attach to the boldest and most remarkable voices from Canada’s diverse Indigenous cultures.

The exhibition Maria Hupfield. The One Who Keeps On Giving includes a selection of objects and videos derived from the performative practice of Maria Hupfield, a major artist of the North American contemporary art scene. The work deploys delicate questions about objects and the memories, as long as the gestures and relationships they evoke.

The exhibition is a production of The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, Toronto, in partnership with The Southern Alberta Art Gallery, Lethbridge, La Galerie de l’UQAM, Montreal, The Mount Saint Vincent University Art Gallery, Halifax and The Canadian Cultural Centre, Paris. It was sponsored by TD Bank Group and supported by Julia & Robert Foster. It received the support of The Canada Council for the Arts and the Ontario Arts Council.

Further information: mariahupfield.wordpress.com

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Publications

Skip Navigation

The One Who Keeps On Giving (Celle qui continue de donner)
Maria Hupfield

Centre Culturel Canadien
26 septembre 2018 - 18 janvier 2019

Maria Hupfield - Vidéo
Maria Hupfield, vue d‘installation / installation view : The Power Plant, Toronto 2017. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et de la / Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal. Photo: Toni Hafkenscheid
Maria Hupfield - Canoë
Maria Hupfield, Jiiman (Canoe / Canot), vue d‘installation / installation view : The Power Plant, Toronto 2017. Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste et de la / Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Hugues Charbonneau, Montréal. Photo: Toni Hafkenscheid

Vernissage le mardi 25 septembre 2018 de 18:00 à 20:30 (dernier accès 20:00) dans le cadre de la Semaine des Cultures Etrangères organisée par le FICEP.

À 19:00, performance de Maria Hupfield avec Nive Nielsen, artiste, chanteuse et actrice Inuk du Groenland (avec son groupe The Deer Children).

Le 26 septembre de 15:30 à 18:30 : rencontres autour du travail de Maria Hupfield et visite guidée de l’exposition (sur réservation).

Après sa toute première exposition dans ses nouveaux espaces du 130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, qui mettait à l’honneur Kent Monkman, un artiste autochtone d’origine crie basé à Toronto, le Centre culturel canadien inaugure la rentrée artistique 2018-2019 avec une artiste autochtone issue de la nation Wasauksing (nation Anishinaabe installée au bord de la Baie Géorgienne, au Nord de Toronto, Ontario) et maintenant établie à Brooklyn. Ce second projet entend affirmer l’importance que le Centre culturel canadien veut donner aux voix les plus audacieuses et singulières des diverses cultures autochtones du Canada.

L’exposition Maria Hupfield. The One Who Keeps On Giving (Celle qui continue de donner) comprend un ensemble d’objets et de vidéos découlant de la pratique performative de Maria Hupfield, artiste majeure de la scène de l’art contemporain en Amérique du Nord. Ce travail déploie des questions sensibles sur les objets et les souvenirs, ainsi que les gestes et les relations qu’ils évoquent.

Cette exposition est produite par The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, Toronto, en partenariat avec la Southern Alberta Art Gallery, Lethbridge, la Galerie de l’UQAM, Montréal, la Mount Saint Vincent University Art Gallery, Halifax et le Centre culturel canadien, Paris. Elle est commanditée par le Groupe Banque TD et parrainée par Julia et Robert Foster. Elle a reçu le soutien du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du Conseil des Arts de l’Ontario.

Plus d’infos : mariahupfield.wordpress.com

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…

Publications