Skip Navigation

VIDEOGRAPHE – Part. 2
"The Duty of Remembrance"

February 02nd, 2021 20:00 - 21:15

Videographe-50ans-Maquette04
alisi_telengut_Nutag-Homeland
NUTAG-HOMELAND by Alisi Telengut
6 min, 2016, Animation
felix_lamarche_terres fantômes
TERRES FANTÔMES by Félix Lamarche
20 min, 2019, Experimental Documentary
pierre_hebert_la_statue_de_robert_e_lee
LA STATUE DE ROBERT E. LEE À CHARLOTTESVILLE by Pierre Hébert
26 min, 2018, Documentary and animation

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the artist-run center Vidéographe in Montreal, the Canadian Cultural Centre invites you to two evenings of online screenings.

On Tuesday, February 2 at 8pm, the Canadian Cultural Centre invites you to an evening of online screenings to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the art centre Vidéographe in Montreal: a selection of 4 art videos on the theme of the duty to remember.

Established in 1971 in Montréal, Vidéographe is an artist-run centre dedicated to the research and the dissemination of moving image practices. Artist Luc Bourdon, in collaboration with Vidéographe’s team, is curating five programs covering 50 years of video creation.

Since its invention, video technology has proven to be mobile, lightweight, instantaneous, portable, thrifty, handy, easy to learn and free from constraints. These keywords that fascinated in the 1970s, have become everyday ones in 2020. Since the 70s, the use of image has gone through a profound revolution and now impacts all socio-economic and cultural spheres of our society.

From the very beginning of the Vidéographe project, the Canadian and international scene has produced works that seek to offer an alternative voice to the official media. This selection presents original and engaged works that aim to raise awareness of the world’s woes. The duty to remember has thus prompted videographers over the years to produce videos that attempt to awaken our consciences. 

Programme duration: 64 minutes / Films available for 24 hours

NUTAG-HOMELAND by Alisi Telengut
6 min, 2016, Animation
A visual poem and surrealist requiem for the Kalmyk people that were mass-deported by USSR from 1943-1957 and half of them died before they were allowed to return home. The film manifests itself as an archetype with frame-by-frame hand painted imagery, bringing back an example of human history on the eternal theme of diaspora and the loss of homeland, but more importantly, by referencing to the past and the lost, it poses a critical resistance to the current social political situations in the world.

TERRES FANTÔMES by Félix Lamarche
20 min, 2019, Experimental Documentary
An experimental approach, with ghostly and a temporal elements, gives substance to recollections of a disturbing but largely forgotten episode of the history of Gaspésie.

LAS MUJERES DE PINOCHET by Edouardo Menz
12 min, 2015, Art video
In this experimental short film, the viewer is forced to role-play through the repeated employment and alteration of the text, sound and image until his or her expectations have been truthfully realized. The video examines class structure, the meaning of beauty and forgotten history through two very different but significant women during Pinochet’s brutal regime of the late 1980’s.

LA STATUE DE ROBERT E. LEE À CHARLOTTESVILLE by Pierre Hébert
26 min, 2018, Documentary and animation
On August 11 and 12, a show of force by neo-nazis and white supremacist groups in Charlottesville, Virginia, to oppose the removal of the statue of  General Robert E. Lee, leads to violent clashes and leave several deaths and many wounded. On August 23, the Town Hall decides to cover the statue with black as a sign of mourning. On August 28, Pierre Hébert leave for Virginia to shoot the shrouded statue as departure point for a reflection about the historical and political implication of the raging debate on the fate of the Confederate statues in the USA.

Further information

Skip Navigation

VIDEOGRAPHE – Partie 2
“Devoir de mémoire”

Centre Culturel Canadien
02 février 2021 20h00 - 21h15

Videographe-50ans-Maquette04
alisi_telengut_Nutag-Homeland
NUTAG-HOMELAND by Alisi Telengut
6 min, 2016, Animation
felix_lamarche_terres fantômes
TERRES FANTÔMES by Félix Lamarche
20 min, 2019, Experimental Documentary
pierre_hebert_la_statue_de_robert_e_lee
LA STATUE DE ROBERT E. LEE À CHARLOTTESVILLE by Pierre Hébert
26 min, 2018, Documentary and animation

Pour célébrer les 50 ans du centre d’artistes Vidéographe de Montréal, le Centre culturel canadien vous invite à deux soirées de projections en ligne.

Créé en 1971 à Montréal, Vidéographe est un centre d’artistes voué à la recherche et à la diffusion de l’image en mouvement. L’artiste Luc Bourdon, en collaboration avec l’équipe de Vidéographe, a élaboré une programmation anniversaire couvrant 50 ans de création vidéo.

Depuis son invention, la technologie vidéo s’avère mobile, légère, instantanée, portable, économe, maniable, facile à apprendre et libre de contraintes. Des mots-clés qui ont fasciné dès le début des années 1970 et qui sont devenus ceux du quotidien en 2020. Entre ces deux dates, une véritable révolution de l’image s’est produite et a pris place dans toutes les sphères socio-économiques et culturelles de notre société.

Dès les débuts du projet Vidéographe, la scène canadienne et internationale engendre des œuvres désireuses d’offrir une voix alternative aux médias officiels. Cette sélection présente des œuvres originales et militantes désireuses de nous conscientiser sur les malheurs du monde. Le devoir de mémoire a ainsi poussé les vidéographes au fil du temps à réaliser des vidéos tentant d’éveiller nos consciences

Durée du programme : 64 minutes / Films disponibles pendant 24h

NUTAG-HOMELAND de Alisi Telengut
6 min, 2016, Animation
Nutag-Homeland est un poème visuel et un requiem surréaliste dédié au peuple Kalmouk qui fut déporté en masse par l’URSS entre 1945-1957. Quand ils furent autorisés à rentrer dans leur patrie, la moitié d’entre eux étaient morts en exil. L’animation constituée d’images peintes à la main rappelle cet épisode de l’histoire humaine pour exemplifier le thème éternel de la diaspora et de la perte de la terre natale.

TERRES FANTÔMES de Félix Lamarche
20 min, 2019, Documentaire expérimental
Dans l’arrière-pays gaspésien des années 1970, une nouvelle politique d’aménagement du territoire mène à la fermeture d’une dizaine de villages et force l’exode de milliers de personnes vers les villes de la côte. Parmi les habitants de ces régions, c’est le choc et la consternation. Aujourd’hui largement oublié, cet épisode a pourtant laissé une marque profonde, des cicatrices autant dans les mémoires que sur le paysage.

LAS MUJERES DE PINOCHET de Edouardo Menz
12 min, 2015, Art vidéo
Las Mujeres de Pinochet est un court métrage expérimental où le spectateur se voit forcé de jouer un rôle à travers le texte, le son et l’image. On y décortique les structures de classe et la signification de la beauté à travers l’histoire oubliée de deux femmes pendant le régime brutal de Pinochet vers la fin des années 1980. Une manière de revisiter le passé du Chili et de juxtaposer les différentes couches sociales d’un peuple.

LA STATUE DE ROBERT E. LEE À CHARLOTTESVILLE de Pierre Hébert
26 min, 2018, Documentaire et animation
Les 11 et 12 août 2017, une démonstration de force de groupes néo-nazis et suprémacistes blancs a lieu à Charlottesville, Virginia, pour s’opposer à l’enlèvement de la statue du général Robert E. Lee. Des affrontements violents ont laissé des morts et de nombreux blessés. Le 23 août, la mairie fait couvrir la statue de noir en signe de deuil. Le 28 août, Pierre Hébert part pour la Virginie pour filmer la statue enveloppée comme point de départ d’une réflexion sur les enjeux politiques et historiques du débat qui fait rage aux USA sur le sort des statues confédérées.

Plus d’infos : www.videographe.org

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…