Skip Navigation

Canad’AIR – Episode 3
Francophonies and Rock'n roll Attitude - Journey to the musical lands of Mehdi CAYENNE

June 08th, 2020

IMG_0149
BALADO - MEHDI
Mehdi Cayenne - Photo : droits réservés

At the end of March, the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris launched the Podcast Canad’AIR, to celebrate its 50th anniversary!

Our first episode, devoted to contemporary digital art, examined the relationship between humans and machines. Our second episode explored, through the vector of Canadian literature, what happens to human beings when they are confronted to themselves, in times of crisis. Our third episode invites you to meet the singer Mehdi Cayenne.

Mehdi, who are you?

Born in 1987 in Algiers, to a French mother and an Algerian father, his name is not yet Mehdi Cayenne but Mehdi Hamdad. In 1989 his family settles in Canada where Mehdi grows up in French but quickly learns English and where he and his family overcome the challenges and tribulations of immigration. From this story comes his energy and strength.

With 4 albums that mix funk, punk, rock and pop music and where electronics meet the Orient, Mehdi Cayenne quickly gained his reputation as the free electron of the Canadian Francophone scene.

A few weeks ago he performed his first live Facebook concert for the Canadian Cultural Centre and talked to Canad’AIR. It’s 10:00 am in Montréal, 4:00 pm in Paris, coffee in one hand, a microphone in the other, we settle in for a honest and unstinting conversation about him and about belonging to the rich and diverse Francophonie of Canada.

Turn up the volume.

Podcast available on all platforms:
Apple Podcast

Google Podcast 
Spotify
Deezer
Podcast Addict
Castbox
Overcast
Castro

Skip Navigation

Canad’AIR – Épisode 3
Francophonies et Rock'n roll Attitude - Voyage sur les terres musicales de Mehdi Cayenne

08 juin 2020

IMG_0149
BALADO - MEHDI
Mehdi Cayenne - Photo : droits réservés

Fin mars, nous avons lancé le Balado du Centre Culturel Canadien à Paris : Canad’AIRpour célébrer son 50e anniversaire !

Après un premier épisode consacré à l’art contemporain digital qui explorait les relations entre les humains et les machines, et un deuxième épisode explorant – par le vecteur de la littérature – le thème de l’être humain confronté à lui-même en période de crise, le troisième épisode de Canad’AIR part à la rencontre du chanteur Mehdi Cayenne.

Mais qui es-tu Mehdi ?

Mehdi est né en 1987 à Alger, d’une mère française et d’un père algérien. Il ne s’appelle pas encore Mehdi Cayenne mais Mehdi Hamdad.  En 1989, la famille met les voiles et s’installe au Canada. Mehdi grandit en français et attrape l’anglais. Mais il se cogne aussi à la rudesse de l’immigration. Cette histoire, il en fera sa force, son énergie.

Avec 4 albums au compteur qui mêlent funk, punk rock et pop, où l’électro flirte avec l’orient, Mehdi Cayenne a gagné son statut d’électron libre de la scène francophone canadienne. Il y a quelques jours, il offrait au Centre culturel canadien son premier concert en facebook live.

Là, il est 10h à Montréal, 16h à Paris. Café dans une main, micro dans l’autre, Mehdi a choisi une veste rouge assortie aux couleurs de Canad’AIR. Il parle de lui et de francophonie. Généreusement et sans langue de bois…

Montez le son de votre casque, accrochez votre ceinture… Décollage.

Accessible sur toutes les plateformes d’écoute.
Apple Podcast
Google Podcast 
Spotify
Deezer
Podcast Addict
Castbox
Overcast
Castro