fbpx Skip Navigation

Edward Burtynsky – Mounds and Voids: From Human to Global Scale
The CCC’s exhibition at the Dieppe Museum!

Musée de Dieppe
June 25th, 2022 - October 02nd, 2022

Shipbreaking #27 with cutter, Chittagong, Bangladesh, 2001
Edward Burtynsky, Shipbreaking #27 with cutter, Chittagong, Bangladesh, 2001 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London
Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London
Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London

As part of the 80th anniversary of the 19 August 1942 raid, Dieppe wants to commemorate and reaffirm the historical and artistic links between the city and Canada. In this perspective, the has joined forces with the Canadian Embassy in France and the Canadian Cultural Centre to host the exhibition “Edward Burtynsky, Mounds And Voids: From Human to Global Scale” at the Dieppe Museum.

Internationally renowned Canadian photographer Edward Burtynsky captures the human footprint on the world, showing us the landscapes, the people on whom our manufactured goods, our way of life, and our industrial and globalized economy depend. Kept away from urban and privileged areas, these scenes captivate with their paradoxical beauty, oscillating between artistic vision and environmental perspective.

Produced and presented initially by the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris, the exhibition, hosted by the Dieppe Museum, offers an original exploration of Burtynsky’s work. Mounds and Voids focuses its lens on the disparity of industrial means of exploiting resources in different parts of the world, its fullness and its emptiness. From manual digging to industrial extraction, many questions emerge: what transformations for the planet? What are the impacts on the populations and workers involved in this cycle from raw materials to waste? What is the future relationship between the human species and its environment?

Mounds and Voids: from Human to Global Scale plays with scales through fourteen photographs, two monumental pictures and a set of augmented reality works. The representation is polarized around men sorting and digging with their bare hands or with the help of machines, expands through aerial views or is recomposed through augmented reality. The comparison of these images invites us to reflect on the local and global issues of the use of raw materials, on the surface and under the Earth, but also on the status of the image itself: its construction, its power, its limits.

Curator: Catherine Bédard, Deputy Director of the Canadian Cultural Centre
Associated curator: Pierre Ickowicz, Chief Curator of the Dieppe Museum 

The Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris is a partner of this exhibition.

Where

Musée de Dieppe
Rue de Chastes, Bd de la Mer, Dieppe

Get directions
Loading Map…

fbpx Skip Navigation

Edward Burtynsky – Mounds and Voids: From Human to Global Scale
L'exposition du CCC au Musée de Dieppe !

Musée de Dieppe
25 juin 2022 - 02 octobre 2022

Shipbreaking #27 with cutter, Chittagong, Bangladesh, 2001
Edward Burtynsky, Shipbreaking #27 with cutter, Chittagong, Bangladesh, 2001 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London
Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London
Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London

Dans le cadre du 80e anniversaire du raid du 19 août 1942, la ville de Dieppe souhaite commémorer et réaffirmer les liens historiques et artistiques actuels unissant la cité au Canada. Dans cette perspective, la ville s’associe à l’Ambassade du Canada et au Centre culturel canadien afin d’accueillir au musée de Dieppe l’exposition « Edward Burtynsky, Mounds And Voids: From Human to Global Scale”.

Photographe canadien de renom international, Edward Burtynsky capture l’empreinte de l’homme sur le monde, nous donnant à voir les paysages, les hommes dont dépendent nos objets manufacturés, notre mode de vie, notre économie industrielle et globalisée. Tenues à l’écart des aires urbaines et favorisées, ces scènes captivent par leur beauté paradoxale, oscillant entre regard artistique et perspective environnementale.
Produite et présentée dans un premier temps par le Centre culturel canadien à Paris, l’exposition, accueillie au Musée de Dieppe, propose une traversée inédite de l’œuvre de Burtynsky. Mounds and Voids pointe son objectif sur la disparité des moyens industriels dans l’exploitation des ressources selon les zones du globe, ses pleins et ses vides. Du creusage manuel à l’extraction industrielle, de nombreux questionnements émergent : quelles transformations pour la planète ? Quels impacts pour les populations et les travailleurs prenant part à ce cycle allant des matières premières aux déchets ? Quelle relation future entre l’espèce humaine et son environnement ?

Mounds and Voids: from Human to Global Scale joue des échelles à travers quatorze photographies, deux clichés monumentaux et un ensemble d’œuvres de réalité augmentée. La représentation se polarise autour des hommes triant et creusant à main nue ou à l’aide de machines, se dilate à travers des vues aériennes ou se recompose à travers la réalité augmentée. La mise en regard de ces images invite à réfléchir aux enjeux locaux et mondiaux de l’usage des matières premières, à la surface et sous la Terre, mais aussi au statut de l’image en elle-même : sa construction, sa puissance, ses limites.

Commissaire : Catherine Bédard, directrice adjointe du Centre culturel canadien
Commissaire associé : Pierre Ickowicz, conservateur en chef du Musée de Dieppe

Cette exposition est conçue et produite par le Centre culturel canadien à Paris. Sa présentation à Dieppe a bénéficié du soutien du Centre culturel canadien et de l’Ambassade du Canada en France.

Lieu

Musée de Dieppe
Rue de Chastes, Bd de la Mer, Dieppe

Itinéraire
Loading Map…