fbpx Skip Navigation

The Experience of the Other
Animated shorts

Centre culturel canadien
December 06th, 2022 20:00 - 21:30

Book now
Darwin's+Notebook,+Georges+Schwizgebel
Le journal de Darwin -Georges Schwizgebel
LSDH_Image_2
La saison des hibiscus - Éléonore Goldberg

In a world where we are constantly told about the importance of diversity, how do filmmakers address the issue of otherness? This programme of six animated films presented at the Canadian Cultural Centre by Marcel Jean, the artistic delegate of the Annecy International Animation Film Festival addresses the question of the Other in a variety of ways. 

Colonialism, immigration and post-colonialism are at the heart of these works. Between the assimilation experiments carried out in Charles Darwin’s time (Darwin’s Notebook) and the memories of a Japanese immigrant’s daughter in Canada (In the Shadow of the Pines), this programme offers different visions of a world where various cultures are brought together.

Presented at the end, Le Temple is inspired by a text by H.P. Lovecraft. Canadian filmmaker Alain Fournier raises the question of the representation of the Other as he recounts the strange incidents that occurred on a German submarine during the Second World War.

The session is presented by Marcel Jean, artistic delegate of the Annecy International Animation Film Festival and director general of the Cinémathèque québécoise. A critic, teacher and producer, he is also the author of several books on Quebec cinema and animation.

In partnership with the Annecy International Animation Film Festival and in collaboration with the Cinémathèque québécoise.

Programme: (duration 61 minutes)

  • La saison des hibiscus by Éléonore Goldberg
    2020 / Canada / 10mn
    Zaire, January 1993. The family of Rachel, a young French girl of 8, lives in Kinshasa in a house overlooking the Congo River. When the military loot the city, Rachel’s family escapes their violence by taking refuge in the French embassy. In the discovery of bodies, of life and death, of sensuality and fragility, Rachel remembers.
  • Darwin’s Notebook by Georges Schwizgebel
    2021 / Suisse / 9mn21
    The return to their country of three anglicized Indigenous or the beginnings of an encounter with the modern world that will destroy them.
  • We Have One Heart by Katarzyna Warzecha
    2020 / Pologne / 12 mn
    When his mother dies, Adam finds his parents’ correspondence. A love story set in the 20th century; a divided world where the Iran-Iraq war marked the beginning of tragic conflicts in the Middle East. Mixing animation and ‘found footage’, the film plunges us into an odyssey full of twists and turns.
  • Y’a bon by Marc Faye
    France / 2021/4mn23
    On February 23, 2005, the radio announces a bill on the benefits of French colonization. This announcement disturbs the daily life of Louise and her family. Her house turns out to be inhabited by strange presences.
  • In the Shadow of the Pines by Anne Koizumi
    Canada / 2020 / 8mn
    Based on her childhood memories, Canadian filmmaker Anne Koizumi talks about her feelings about her father, a Japanese immigrant working as a caretaker at her daughter’s primary schools.
  • Le Temple by Alain Fournier
    Canada / 2020 / 17 mn26
    The crew of a German u-boat on a mission in the North Atlantic witnesses strange phenomena on board. After an inexplicable explosion in the engine room, the submarine slowly sinks to the abyssal depths, while madness decimates the submariners.
Book now
ya bon
Y’a bon - Marc Faye
Shadow
In the Shadow of the Pines - Anne Koizumi

Where

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Booking

Soirée de projections courts-métrages d'animation - 6 décembre, 20h

fbpx Skip Navigation

L’expérience de l’Autre
Programme de cinéma d’animation

Centre culturel canadien
06 décembre 2022 20h00 - 21h30

Réserver
Darwin's+Notebook,+Georges+Schwizgebel
Le journal de Darwin -Georges Schwizgebel
LSDH_Image_2
La saison des hibiscus - Éléonore Goldberg

Dans un monde où on nous parle sans cesse de l’importance de la diversité, comment les cinéastes abordent-ils la question de l’altérité ? Ce programme de six films d’animation présentés au Centre culturel canadien par Marcel Jean, délégué artistique du Festival international du film d’animation d’Annecy aborde l’Autre sous de multiples façons. 

Le colonialisme, l’immigration et le post-colonialisme sont au cœur de ces œuvres. Entre les expériences d’assimilation menées au temps de Charles Darwin (Le journal de Darwin) et les souvenirs de la fille d’un immigrant japonais au Canada (In the Shadow of the Pines), ce programme propose différentes visions d’un monde où diverses cultures sont mises en présence.

Présenté en fin de programme, Le Temple s’inspire d’un texte d’H.P. Lovecraft. Le cinéaste canadien Alain Fournier pose la question de la représentation de l’Autre alors qu’il raconte les étranges incidents survenus dans un sous-marin allemand, pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

La séance est présentée par Marcel Jean, délégué artistique du Festival international du cinéma d’animation d’Annecy et directeur général de la Cinémathèque québécoise. Critique, enseignant et producteur, il est aussi l’auteur de plusieurs ouvrages portant sur le cinéma québécois ainsi que sur le cinéma d’animation.

En partenariat avec le Festival international du film d’animation d’Annecy et en collaboration avec la Cinémathèque québécoise.

Programme : (durée 61 minutes)

  • La saison des hibiscus d’Éléonore Goldberg
    2020 / Canada / 10mn
    Zaïre, janvier 1993. La famille de Rachel, jeune française de 8 ans, vit à Kinshasa dans une maison donnant sur le fleuve Congo. Lorsque les militaires pillent la ville, la famille de Rachel échappe à leur violence en se réfugiant à l’ambassade de France. Dans la découverte des corps, de la vie et de la mort, de la sensualité et de la fragilité, Rachel se rappelle.
  • Le journal de Darwin de Georges Schwizgebel
    2021 / Suisse / 9mn21
    Le retour dans leur pays de trois autochtones anglicisés ou les prémices d’une rencontre avec le monde moderne qui va les détruire.
  • We Have One Heart de Katarzyna Warzecha
    2020 / Pologne / 12 mn
    À la mort de sa mère, Adam retrouve la correspondance de ses parents. Une histoire d’amour imbriquée dans le XXe siècle ; un monde divisé où la guerre Iran-Iraq marquait le début de conflits tragiques au Moyen-Orient. Mélangeant animation et ‹ found footage ›, le film nous plonge dans une odyssée pleine de rebondissements.
  • Y’a bon de Marc Faye
    France / 2021/4mn23
    Le 23 février 2005, la radio annonce un projet de loi sur les bienfaits de la colonisation française. Cette annonce vient troubler le quotidien de Louise et de sa famille. Sa maison se révèle être habitée par d’étranges présences.
  • In the Shadow of the Pines d’Anne Koizumi
    Canada / 2020 / 8mn
    S’appuyant sur ses souvenirs d’enfance, la cinéaste canadienne Anne Koizumi nous parle de ses sentiments relatifs à son père, immigrant japonais exerçant le métier de concierge à l’école primaire fréquentée par sa fille.
  • Le Temple d’Alain Fournier
    Canada / 2020 / 17 mn26
    L’équipage d’un u-boat allemand en mission dans l’Atlantique-Nord est témoin de phénomènes étranges à son bord. Après une explosion inexplicable dans la salle des machines, le sous-marin sombre lentement vers les profondeurs abyssales, tandis que la folie décime les sous-mariniers.
Réserver
ya bon
Y’a bon - Marc Faye
Shadow
In the Shadow of the Pines - Anne Koizumi

Lieu

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Loading Map…

Réservation

Soirée de projections courts-métrages d'animation - 6 décembre, 20h