fbpx Skip Navigation

Conversation with Julie Doucet
Grand Prix at Angoulême International Comics Festival

Centre culturel canadien
February 13th, 2023 20:00 - 21:30

Book now
SuicideTotal_3D_ferme
portrait Julie Doucet credit-Kate-Mada 2018

The singular and subversive Quebec artist Julie Doucet, winner of the Grand Prix at the Angoulême International Comics Festival 2022, is stopping by the Canadian Cultural Centre for a unique encounter. Feminist figurehead of alternative comics, she will be presenting her new book Suicide total, published in January by L’Association, and talking about her artistic creations such as collage, woodcutting and silkscreening.

Julie Doucet had promised to stop writing comics and autobiography. Now she’s back on her word with Suicide total, a fabulous immersive fresco drawn in one piece that carries us away like a river going back in time.

We are in 1989, Julie is 23 years old, she produces fanzines that she distributes in bookshops or by mail order. She then begins an intense epistolary relationship with one of her readers, a Frenchman. The two young people write hundreds of letters to each other and become enthusiastic about each other, until a trip to Europe gives them the opportunity to meet in the flesh…

By the time she won the Grand Prix, Julie Doucet had stopped writting comics for some twenty years. And yet, she has continued to have a considerable influence on a generation of creators. She is now a myth.

Julie Doucet, born in 1965 in Montreal, is one of the most important comic book authors of the end of the last century. While studying at the University of Quebec in Montreal, she discovered comics and began publishing a photocopied fanzine: “Dirty Plotte”, in which she documented her daily life, dreams and anxieties in French and English. The title was picked up in 1991 by the Montreal-based publisher Drawn & Quarterly, which published them. After living in New York, Seattle and Berlin, Julie Doucet returned to Montreal where she lives and works, now operating in a field closer to the graphic arts (collage, poetry, photo novels).

This meeting will be moderated by Julien Misserey, curator of the exhibition Julie Doucet, toujours de grande classe and member of the artistic direction team of the FIBD in Angoulême.

It will be followed by a signing session.

Book sales will be provided by the Librairie du Québec à Paris.

In collaboration with L’Association.

Book now

Where

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Booking

Rencontre Julie Doucet - 13 février, 20 h

fbpx Skip Navigation

Rencontre avec Julie Doucet
Grand Prix du festival d’Angoulême 2022

Centre culturel canadien
13 février 2023 20h00 - 21h30

Réserver
SuicideTotal_3D_ferme
portrait Julie Doucet credit-Kate-Mada 2018

La singulière et subversive artiste québécoise Julie Doucet, couronnée du Grand Prix du Festival international de la bande dessinée d’Angoulême 2022, fait étape au Centre culturel canadien pour une rencontre unique. Figure de proue féministe de la bande dessinée alternative, elle vient présenter son nouveau recueil Suicide total paru en janvier chez L’Association, mais aussi ses autres créations artistiques comme le collage, la gravure sur bois, ou la sérigraphie.

Julie Doucet avait promis d’arrêter la bande dessinée et l’autobiographie. Voici qu’elle revient sur ses mots avec Suicide total une fabuleuse fresque immersive dessinée d’un seul tenant qui nous emporte comme un fleuve à remonter le temps.

Nous sommes en 1989, Julie a 23 ans, elle réalise des fanzines qu’elle distribue dans les librairies ou par correspondance. Elle entame alors une relation épistolaire intense avec l’un de ses lecteurs, un Français. Les deux jeunes gens s’écrivent des centaines de lettres et s’enthousiasment l’un pour l’autre, jusqu’à ce qu’un voyage en Europe leur offre l’occasion de se rencontrer en chair et en os…

Lorsqu’elle a remporté le Grand Prix, Julie Doucet avait arrêté de faire de la bande dessinée depuis une vingtaine d’années. Malgré tout, elle a continué d’avoir une influence considérable sur une génération de créateurs. Elle fait aujourd’hui figure de mythe.

Julie Doucet, née en 1965 à Montréal, est l’une des autrices de bande dessinée les plus importantes de la fin du siècle dernier. Au cours de ses études à l’université du Québec à Montréal, elle découvre la bande dessinée et commence à publier un fanzine photocopié : « Dirty Plotte », dans lequel elle documente en français et en anglais sa vie quotidienne, ses rêves, ses angoisses. Le titre est repris en 1991 par l’éditeur Drawn & Quarterly à Montréal qui les publie. Après avoir vécu à New-York, Seattle et Berlin, Julie Doucet est retournée à Montréal où elle vit et travaille, opérant désormais dans un champ plus proche des Arts graphiques (collage, poésie, roman-photo).

Cette rencontre sera animée par Julien Misserey, commissaire de l’exposition Julie Doucet, toujours de grande classe et membre de l’équipe de la direction artistique du FIBD d’Angoulême.

La rencontre sera suivie d’une séance de signature.

La vente de livre sera assurée par la Librairie du Québec à Paris.

En collaboration avec L’Association.

Réserver

Lieu

Centre culturel canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Loading Map…

Réservation

Rencontre Julie Doucet - 13 février, 20 h