fbpx Skip Navigation

Samian & La Chica
Virtual conversation moderated by Louis-Philippe Labrèche (Canal Auditif)

Centre Culturel Canadien
May 06th, 2021 20:00 - 21:00

Samian-La-Chica-Centre-culturel-canadien-Musique-Music-Canada-Cultural-Rencontre-Conversation
Portrait de Samian - Tous droits réservés
Portrait de La Chica - Par Guillaume Malheiro
Capture d’écran 2021-07-13 à 16.48.36

Let’s begin the month in music with the Canadian Cultural Centre! We invite you on Thursday, May 6th at 8pm on our Facebook page and our Youtube channel to a live meeting between the Canadian rapper and slammer Samian and the Franco-Venezuelan singer-songwriter La Chica

These two artists share an uncompromising artistic relationship with music, a strong sensitivity to visual arts and the creative power of their ancestral cultures. The first rapper and slammer of the First Nations to express himself in French and Algonquin, Samian launched his own music label Nikamo Musik in March 2021, with which he supports other Indigenous artists. La Chica, a Franco-Venezuelan singer-songwriter, offers a collage of sound textures from her traditional heritage and various modern influences in her music and her latest album La Loba.

This conversation will be moderated by Louis-Philippe Labrèche, editor of Canal Auditif.

Biographies:
Samian: Rapper and slammer, Samian expresses himself in French and Algonquin. He has performed across Canada, from coast to coast, and has also made a name for himself on the international scene (France, Spain, Finland, China). Samian is also a photographer: in 2015, he was a spokesperson for the World Press Photo Montreal, in addition to having presented some shots there.
That same year, his first book of poetry “La plume d’aigle” was published by Mémoire d’encrier in which he pays tribute to the Ancestors. In March 2021, Samian launched his own music label, Nikamo Musik, with which he supports other Aboriginal artists. 

La Chica: On one side of the ocean, there is Latin America, an intense land full of magic. On the other side, there is Paris, Belleville, a multicultural, urban and modern land. Between pianos and keyboards, the Spanish-speaking artist La Chica skilfully mixes her classical inspirations and her love for Debussy, with the depth of analog synthesizer layers. A burst of raw emotion, between abstract thoughts and poetic introspection.

Louis-Philippe Labrèche (host) : Louis-Philippe was an actor and theatre director in another life. He is also a music lover; almost a fanatic! His (more or less) young ears are on the lookout for new sounds and bold musical trends. He has been writing for Canal Auditif for 2011 years, and has been the editor-in-chief since January 2017. 

A conversation in partnership with Paris – New York Festival.

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

SAMIAN & LA CHICA
Rencontre en ligne animée par Louis-Philippe Labrèche (Canal Auditif)

06 mai 2021 20h00 - 21h00

Samian-La-Chica-Centre-culturel-canadien-Musique-Music-Canada-Cultural-Rencontre-Conversation
Portrait de Samian - Tous droits réservés
Portrait de La Chica - Par Guillaume Malheiro
Samian-Anishinabe-Clip-Centre-culturel-canadien-Canadian-Cultural-Centre
Samian - Anishinabe - Vidéoclip officiel

Le mois de mai débute en musique avec le Centre culturel canadien ! On vous invite le jeudi 6 mai à 20h sur notre page Facebook et notre chaîne Youtube à une rencontre en direct inédite entre le rappeur et slameur canadien Samian et l’autrice compositrice et interprète franco-vénézuélienne La Chica

Ces deux artistes ont en commun un rapport artistique sans concession à la musique, une sensibilité forte aux arts visuels et la puissance créatrice de leurs cultures ancestrales. Premier rappeur et slameur des Premières Nations à s’exprimer en français et en algonquin, Samian a lancé en mars 2021 son propre label de musique Nikamo Musik, avec lequel il soutient d’autres artistes autochtones. Autrice, compositrice et interprète franco-vénézuélienne, La Chica propose dans sa musique et son dernier album La Loba un collage de textures sonores, empruntées à son héritage traditionnel et diverses influences modernes.

Cette rencontre sera animée par Louis-Philippe Labrèche, rédacteur en chef du Canal Auditif.

Biographies :
Samian : Rappeur et slameur, Samian s’exprime en français et en algonquin. Il s’est produit dans tout le Canada, d’un océan à l’autre et s’est également fait connaître sur la scène internationale (France, Espagne, Finlande, Chine). Samian est aussi photographe : en 2015, il a été porte-parole du World Press Photo Montreal, en plus d’y avoir présenté quelques clichés.
Cette même année son premier recueil de poésie « La plume d’aigle » est publié par la maison d’édition Mémoire d’encrier dans lequel il rend hommage aux Ancêtres. En mars 2021, Samian a lancé son propre label de musique, Nikamo Musik, avec lequel il soutient d’autres artistes autochtones. 

La Chica : D’un côté de l’océan, il y a l’Amérique Latine, terre intense et pleine de magie. De l’autre côté, il y a Paris, Belleville, terre pluriculturelle, urbaine et moderne. Entre pianos et claviers, l’artiste hispanophone La Chica mélange habilement ses inspirations classiques et son amour pour Debussy, avec la profondeur des nappes de synthés analogiques. Une émotion à l’état brut, entre pensées abstraites et introspection poétique.

Louis-Philippe Labrèche (modérateur) : Louis-Philippe était comédien et metteur en scène de théâtre dans une autre vie. C’est aussi un amoureux fou de la musique ; quasiment un fanatique ! Ses (plus ou moins) jeunes oreilles sont à l’affût de nouvelles sonorités et des tendances musicales audacieuses. Il écrit pour Canal Auditif depuis 2011 ans, et en est le rédacteur en chef depuis janvier 2017.

Une rencontre en partenariat avec le Paris New-York Festival.