Skip Navigation

Shannon Bool
Promiscuous Rooms

Centre Culturel Canadien
February 08th, 2019 - April 05th, 2019

Book now
Shannon Bool
Vue d'exposition de Shannon Bool, La forme d'Obus / The Shape of Obus, été 2018, Musée d'art de Joliette, photo Paul Litherland.
Sahnnon Bool, Oued Ouchaia, 2018
Shannon Bool, Oued Ouchaia, 2018 - Vue d'exposition de Shannon Bool, La forme d'Obus / The Shape of Obus, été 2018, Musée d'art de Joliette, photo Paul Litherland.
Shannon Bool, Bombshells series, 2018
Shannon Bool, Bombshells series, 2018 - Vue d'exposition de Shannon Bool, La forme d'Obus / The Shape of Obus, été 2018, Musée d'art de Joliette, photo Paul Litherland.

Opening on February 7 from 18:00 to 20:30

Guided tour with the artist at 17:00

Upon reservation (see below)

The Canadian Cultural Centre is pleased to present Shannon Bool’s first solo exhibition in France. Bool is an internationally recognized contemporary artist based in Berlin. Produced by the Musée d’art de Joliette, the exhibition is enriched in Paris by several new works co-produced with the Kunstverein Braunschweig, which will host the exhibition in the fall of 2019. Promiscuous Roomsreveals the underlying fantasmal character of modernist architecture, and the current relevance of this issue in a world where the image of an “exotic” female body remains powerfully seductive, but in more ambiguous ways.

Shannon Bool’s recent practice takes on many forms, including tapestries, silk paintings, collages, sculptures or photograms. Promiscuous Rooms foregrounds Bool’s current research on a series of erotic drawings made by Le Corbusier in Algeria during the 1930s. These coincided with the initial stages of the architect’s urban plan designs aimed at transforming Algiers into a modern imperial capital, thus asserting the French presence in North Africa. With her Bombshells series, Bool detects in the architect’s curved urban designs the direct consequences of his voyeuristic sessions; the sensuality of Moorish bodies, by association and projection, informed his proposals to redesign the city. By literally superimposing the megastructures of the Plan Obus onto the bodies of colonized women posed within Orientalist settings, Bool reveals the violence behind the idea of progress in Le Corbusier’s proposals for the city’s modernisation, and does so through a postcolonial, feminist lens.

Initiated by the Musée d’art de Joliette, this exhibition is coproduced in Europe by the Centre culturel canadien, Paris, and the Kunstverein Braunschweig, Braunschweig, and travelling in Canada to the Agnes Etherington Art Centre, Kingston. We wish to thank the Canada Council for the Arts for their support.

 

Book now

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Booking

Visite guidée de l'exposition avec l'artiste / Guided Tour with the artist

Skip Navigation

Shannon Bool
Promiscuités

Centre Culturel Canadien
08 février 2019 - 05 avril 2019

Shannon Bool - Women in their Apartment [Femmes dans leur appartement], 2019
Shannon Bool - Women in their Apartment [Femmes dans leur appartement], 2019 - Photo Vincent Royer, OpenUp Studio / Centre culturel canadien-Canadian Cultural Centre, Paris
Sahnnon Bool, Oued Ouchaia, 2018
Shannon Bool, Oued Ouchaia, 2018 - Vue d'exposition de Shannon Bool, La forme d'Obus / The Shape of Obus, été 2018, Musée d'art de Joliette, photo Paul Litherland.
Shannon Bool, Bombshells series, 2018
Shannon Bool, Bombshells series, 2018 - Vue d'exposition de Shannon Bool, La forme d'Obus / The Shape of Obus, été 2018, Musée d'art de Joliette, photo Paul Litherland.

Le Centre culturel canadien présente la première exposition monographique consacrée à Shannon Bool en France.  Artiste majeure de la scène internationale, Shannon Bool travaille à Berlin. Conçue et produite par le Musée d’art de Joliette, l’exposition s’enrichit à Paris de pièces nouvelles co-produites avec la Kunstverein Braunschweig qui sera également l’hôte du projet à l’automne 2019. Promiscuités révèle en quelque sorte la trame fantasmatique de l’architecture moderniste. Elle montre également l’actualité de cet enjeu dans un monde où l’image du corps féminin « exotique » exerce toujours son pouvoir d’attraction mais à travers d’autres ambiguïtés.

Le travail de Shannon Bool adopte de multiples formes, entre autres la tapisserie, la peinture sur soie, le collage, la sculpture et le photogramme. Promiscuités met de l’avant la recherche actuelle de l’artiste qui s’est intéressée aux dessins érotiques réalisés par Le Corbusier en Algérie à partir des années 1930. Ces dessins coïncident avec le moment où l’architecte entreprend la conception d’une série de plans d’urbanisme visant à transformer Alger en une capitale impériale moderne, affirmant la présence française en Afrique du Nord. Avec la série Bombshells (Beautés canon), Shannon Bool montre que l’aménagement urbain tout en courbes imaginé par l’architecte découle de ses séances de voyeurisme, la sensualité des corps mauresques donnant forme par associations et projections aux idées proposées pour rénover la ville. Dans une perspective postcoloniale et féministe, l’artiste rend visible la violence liée à l’idée de progrès sous-tendant les propositions de modernisation de la ville conçues par Le Corbusier en surimposant littéralement sur les corps des femmes colonisées et mises en scène dans des décors orientalistes les mégastructures du Plan Obus pensé par l’architecte.

Initiée par le Musée d’art de Joliette, cette exposition est coproduite en Europe en partenariat avec le Centre culturel canadien, Paris, et le Kunstverein Braunschweig, Braunschweig. Elle est accueillie en tournée par le Agnes Etherington Art Centre, Kingston. Elle a reçu le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada.

Vernissage le 7 février de 18h00 à 20h30, précédé d’une visite guidée avec l’artiste à 17h00 sur réservation

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…

Réservation

Événement complet.