fbpx Skip Navigation

Aurae – Exhibition-Experience
Sabrina Ratté

Gaîté Lyrique
March 17th, 2022 - July 10th, 2022

sabrina-ratte-undream-2018_cover
© Sabrina Ratté - Undream - 2018

From March 17 to July 10, the Gaîté Lyrique presents Aurae, an “exhibition-experience” by Canadian artist Sabrina Ratté! 

Through a series of installations, screenings, prints, photogrammetries, sculptures and spatial displays, Sabrina Ratté invents carnal landscapes and dreamed architectures, situated somewhere between the physical and the virtual world.

Aurae borrows its title from one of her first videos with sun-washed colours (2012), but also from the etymology of the word “aura”, which indicates a gentle wind, a breath, an atmosphere. With this series of works full of poetry and science fiction, Sabrina Ratté gives relief to images to restore a new aura in the age of technology.

The exhibition takes the form of a journey in which the visitor becomes an actor in the exhibition space. Aurae is presented as a large group of immersive architectures and landscapes inhabited by a moving visual material, questioning the physical separation between two realities.

Curator: Jos Auzende
Further information

In partnership with the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris.

In parallel to her exhibition at La Gaîté Lyrique, join us to discover Floralia III by Sabrina Ratté presented in our group exhibition Decision Making at the Canadian Cultural Centre until April 15!

Sabrina Ratté
Canadian artist based between Montreal and Marseille, Sabrina Ratté evolves at the frontier of visual arts, scenography, performance and music. The continuous exploration of new techniques nourishes the themes that run through her work, including the influence of architecture and the digital world on our perceptions, as well as the relationship we have with the virtual aspect of life. Born in 1982 in Quebec City, Sabrina Ratté has been drawing on the relationship between the real and the virtual for the past ten years to imagine her environments, which she works with analog technologies and digital tools, making electricity her raw material and video her malleable substance.

Where

Gaîté Lyrique
3 bis rue Papin, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

fbpx Skip Navigation

Aurae – Exposition-expérience
Sabrina Ratté

Gaîté Lyrique
17 mars 2022 - 10 juillet 2022

sabrina-ratte-undream-2018_cover
© Sabrina Ratté - Undream - 2018

Du 17 mars au 10 juillet, la Gaîté Lyrique présente Aurae, une “exposition-expérience” de l’artiste canadienne Sabrina Ratté ! 

À travers une série d’installations, de projections vidéo, d’animations, d’impressions, de photogrammétries, de sculptures et de dispositifs spatiaux, Sabrina Ratté invente des paysages charnels et des architectures rêvées, situées quelque part entre le monde physique et le monde virtuel.

Aurae emprunte son titre à l’une de ses premières œuvres vidéos aux couleurs lavées par le soleil (2012), mais aussi à l’étymologie du mot “aura”, qui indique un vent doux, un souffle, une atmosphère. Avec cette série d’œuvres empreintes de poésie et de science-fiction, Sabrina Ratté propose de redonner du relief aux images, de leur restituer une aura nouvelle à l’ère des technologies.

L’exposition prend la forme d’une traversée dans laquelle le visiteur ou la visiteuse devient acteur ou actrice de l’espace. Aurae se présente comme un grand ensemble d’architectures immersives et de paysages habités par une matière visuelle en mouvement, interrogeant la séparation physique entre deux réalités.

Commissariat : Jos Auzende
Plus d’informations 

En partenariat avec le Centre Culturel Canadien à Paris.

Parallèlement à son exposition à la Gaîté Lyrique, venez découvrir Floralia III de Sabrina Ratté présentée au cœur de notre exposition collective Decision Making au Centre culturel canadien jusqu’au 15.04 !

Sabrina Ratté
Artiste canadienne basée entre Montréal et Marseille, Sabrina Ratté évolue à la frontière des arts plastiques, de la scénographie, de la performance et de la musique. L’exploration continuelle de nouvelles techniques nourrissent les thèmes qui traversent ses œuvres, notamment l’influence de l’architecture et du numérique sur notre perception du monde, ainsi que la relation que nous entretenons avec l’aspect virtuel de l’existence. Née en 1982 à Québec, Sabrina Ratté puise depuis une dizaine d’années dans les rapports entre réel et virtuel pour imaginer ses environnements, qu’elle travaille à partir de technologies analogiques et d’outils numériques, faisant de l’électricité sa matière première et de la vidéo sa substance malléable.

Lieu

Gaîté Lyrique
3 bis rue Papin, Paris

Itinéraire
Loading Map…