Skip Navigation

Marshall McLuhan at the Canadian Cultural Centre

Centre Culturel Canadien (Invalides)
September 30th, 2011 - November 16th, 2011

Rokeby_Kaye_Mars-presse
David Rokeby and Lewis Kaye, Through the Vanishing Point, 2011. Installation at the MaRS Centre for McLuhan100, Toronto. Courtesy of the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival © Toni Hafkenscheid
Robert Bean_Monotype (2010)
Robert Bean, Monotype, 2010. Courtesy of the artist.

2011 marks the centenary of the birth of Herbert Marshall McLuhan. Mc Luhan grew into a literary and media icon of extraordinary renown ; no figure is more universally associated with the rise of media information and oour transformation into a digital society. 

The Canadian cultural centre presents from September 30 to November 16, two multimedia exhibitions dedicated to Marshall McLuhan showing a new technological portrayal turned into the future about this major intellectual figure of the 20th century.

Through the Vanishing Point” from David Rokeby and Lewis Kaye

Canadian artists David Rokeby and Lewis Kaye visually and aurally constructed McLuhan’s personna. The exhibition illuminates the intellectual spirit of th egreat media prophet. As the framework fot their work the artists drew from McLuhan’s book “Through the Vanishing Point : Space in Poetry and Painting”, 1968, which explores the way electronic media fragments the homogenous experience of space. 

Illuminated Manuscripts” from Robert Bean 

Illuminated Manuscripts” is a project about writing, archives and photography. It emphasizes the figure/ground relationship that is physically inscribed on the surface of Marshall McLuhan’s documents and manuscripts. Bean contextualizes McLuhan’s writing process within a framework of obsolete electronic technologies. He presents a selection of recent photographs of outdated writing machines in the collection of the Canadian Science and Technology Museum—such as the telegraph, dictaphone, and typewriter—alongside new video works that animate 100 of McLuhan’s original documents from the collection of the Library and Archives Canada.

These exhibitions are shown in partnership with the Scotiabank CONTACT photography festival of Toronto and the Mc Luhan Program in Culture and Technology “Coach House Institute” at the University of Toronto

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien (Invalides)
5, rue de Constantine, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

« Marshall McLuhan au Centre culturel canadien »

Centre Culturel Canadien (Invalides)
30 septembre 2011 - 16 novembre 2011

Rokeby_Kaye_Mars-presse
David Rokeby and Lewis Kaye, Through the Vanishing Point, 2011. Installation at the MaRS Centre for McLuhan100, Toronto. Courtesy of the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival © Toni Hafkenscheid
Robert Bean_Monotype (2010)
Robert Bean, Monotype, 2010. Courtesy of the artist.

L’année 2011 marque le centième anniversaire de la naissance du grand théoricien de la communication canadien, Marshall McLuhan. Aucune personnalité n’est plus universellement associée à notre compréhension et notre vision des médias, de l’information, de la communication, et de notre transformation en une société numérique.

Le Centre culturel canadien présente du 30 septembre au 16 novembre 2011 deux expositions multimédias consacrées à Marshall McLuhan, qui proposent un portrait inédit, technologique et tourné vers l’avenir de cette grande figure intellectuelle canadienne du 20ème siècle : 

Through the Vanishing Point” de David Rokeby et Lewis Kaye

Les artistes David Rokeby et Lewis Kaye ont reconstruit la figure de McLuhan en une exposition illuminant l’esprit intellectuel du grand prophète des médias. En guise de cadre à leur travail, les artistes ont fait appel au livre de McLuhan (écrit en collaboration avec Harley Parker), “Through the Vanishing Point : Space in Poetry and Painting” (Au-delà du point de fuite. L’espace en poésie et en peinture),1968, qui explore la façon dont les médias électroniques fragmentent l’expérience homogène de l’espace.

Illuminated Manuscripts” de Robert Bean 

lluminated Manuscripts est un projet autour de l’écriture, des archives et de la photographie. Il exalte la relation figure/fond, qui est physiquement inscrite à la surface des documents et manuscrits de Marshall McLuhan. Robert Bean contextualise le processus d’écriture de McLuhan dans le cadre de technologies électroniques obsolètes. Il présente un choix de photographies actuelles d’anciennes machines écrivantes du Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada – telles que le télégraphe, le dictaphone et la machine à écrire – ainsi que des œuvres vidéos inédites animant 100 documents originaux de McLuhan issus des collections de la Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Ces expositions sont présentées en partenariat avec le Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival de Toronto et le Programme MacLuhan de Culture et Technologie «Coach House Institute» de l’Université de Toronto.

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien (Invalides)
5, rue de Constantine, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…