fbpx Skip Navigation

Edward Burtynsky – Mounds and Voids

Centre Culturel Canadien
December 09th, 2020 20:00 - 21:00

Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London
Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London

As we mark the 5th anniversary of the Paris Agreement (#COP21) and climate change continues to mobilize governments and citizens around the world, the Canadian Cultural Centre invites you to a virtual tour of the exhibition “Edward Burtynsky – Mounds and Voids. From Human to Global Scale“, on December 9th at 8pm.

Presented by the artist and the curator, this 45-minutes encounter was filmed in duplex at the CCC in Paris and at Edward Burtynsky’s studio in Toronto.

A renowned Canadian photographer, travelling around the planet for decades and exploring the residual landscapes left behind by our modern existence, Edward Burtynsky has produced images of an uncanny beauty of our planet. His work highlights the local and global issues of water and oil, the exploitation of resources and the resulting impact on labour forces and populations

Mounds and Voids focuses on the industrial and human means convened in the profitable exploitation of land. Far away from the large urban centres, what impacts do these operations have on our planet? What do we see and what do we know of those who dig, extract, pile up and work with bare hands where industrial machinery cannot? 

Curator: Catherine Bédard

📲 The virtual guided tour will be available on our Facebook Page.

Teaser Edward Burtynsky 2020

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Loading Map…

Skip Navigation

Edward Burtynsky – Mounds and Voids
Evénement Facebook : visite guidée virtuelle

Centre Culturel Canadien
09 décembre 2020
20h00 - 21h00

Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London
Edward Burtynsky, Bao Steel #8, Shanghai, China, 2005 © courtesy Nicholas Metivier Gallery, Toronto / Flowers Gallery, London

Teaser Edward Burtynsky 2020

Alors que nous marquons le 5e anniversaire de l’Accord de Paris (#COP21) et que les questions climatiques continuent à mobiliser citoyens et gouvernements autour du monde, le Centre culturel canadien vous invite à une visite guidée virtuelle de l’exposition « Edward Burtynsky – Mounds and Voids: From Human to Global Scale« , le 9 décembre à 20h.

Présentée par l’artiste et la commissaire, cette rencontre d’une durée de 45 minutes a été tournée en duplex au CCC à Paris et dans le studio d’Edward Burtynsky à Toronto.

Photographe canadien renommé parcourant la planète depuis des décennies en explorant les paysages résiduels issus de notre existence moderne, Edward Burtynsky met en images la beauté paradoxale de notre planète : les enjeux locaux et globaux de l’eau et du pétrole, l’exploitation de ces ressources et l’impact sur la main-d’œuvre et les populations locales. 

Mounds and Voids: From Human to Global Scale se concentre sur les moyens industriels et humains employés pour l’exploitation intensive des sols. A l’écart des grands centres urbains, quelles empreintes ces opérations laissent-elles sur notre planète ? Que voit-on et que sait-on de ceux qui creusent, extraient, ramassent, sélectionnent à main nue, là où la machinerie industrielle ne peut agir ? 

Commissaire : Catherine Bédard

📲 Visite virtuelle à visionner depuis notre Page Facebook

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Chargement de la carte…