Skip Navigation

(M)other
Encounter between Sanita Fejzić & Alain Boisvert

Centre Culturel Canadien
June 18th, 2020
19:00 - 19:30

Copie de TWITTER - PRIDE MONTH (2)
Sanita Fejzić, Mère(s) et monde (Ed. Bouton d'Or d'Acadie, 2020)

As part of Pride Month celebrations 🌈, the Canadian Cultural Centre explores the subject of parenthood through the youth album (M)other of the Canadian-Bosnian author Sanita Fejzić. 

Join us for an encounter on Facebook on Thursday, June 18 at 7 pm with Sanita Fejzić and Alain Boisvert, author of Mépapasonlà (Editions David). 

Taken from the poem (M)other, finalist of the CBC Poetry Prize in 2018, the youth album (M)other is the author’s cry from the heart as the non-biological mother of a boy born to a same-sex couple. 

Between incidents at the doctor’s office and at school, Sanita Fejzić speaks out against the institutionalized heteronormativity of civil society and denounces the obstacles faced by same-sex families.

Summary:
No, my son doesn’t have a father!
From the delivery room where her son was born, to the school benches, a woman who is denied the status of mother says: no, her son has no father, but he has two mothers. She is his other mother. There is no box for that in the forms. There is no room for it in the minds of her peers, nor of the children playing with her son in the schoolyard.
This story, translated from a 2018 CBC Poetry Prize finalist poem, is a tender and accurate account of how difficult it is for same-sex families to be accepted for what they are: loving families.

Biographies:
Sanita Fejzić is an award-winning Bosnian-Canadian author. Her first book, Psychomachia, in Latin “fight of the soul”, was a finalist for the Ken Klonsky short story contest as well as for the Canada ReLit 2018 Award. Fejzić has published her poems and short stories in various Canadian literary journals. In 2018, her poem “(M)other” was a finalist in the Poetry Prize Radio-Canada. Fejzić is currently completing her PhD at the University of Queen in Cultural Studies.

Director of the CCNB (Acadian Peninsula Campus), Alain Boisvert is best known for his work as an arts and entertainment reporterwith Radio-Canada in Toronto. Executive Director of La Nouvelle Scène (Ottawa), then Director of Communications at the National Gallery of Canada, he has worked in some 15 countries on international tours with Up with People. After managing the Kings Landing Historical Village, he also worked in the provincial civil service (Department of Wellness, Culture and Sports).
His first novel, Mépapasonlà (Éditions David, 2016) was enthusiastically received by critics. In June 2016, Alain Boisvert was awarded the Prix Ambassadeur (Huguette Éva-Desjardins) by the Conseil provincial des sociétés culturelles (CPSC), given to an organization or individual who has shown great sensitivity to cultural development in New Brunswick.

Further information: Bouton d’or Acadie / Writer’s website

Where

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Get directions
Map Unavailable

Skip Navigation

Mère(s) et monde
Rencontre avec l'autrice Sanita Fejzić animée par l'auteur Alain Boisvert

Centre Culturel Canadien
18 juin 2020
19h00 - 19h30

Copie de TWITTER - PRIDE MONTH (2)
Sanita Fejzić, Mère(s) et monde (Ed. Bouton d'Or d'Acadie, 2020)

Dans le cadre des célébrations du Mois des Fiertés 🌈, le Centre culturel canadien s’interroge sur la parentalité à travers l’album jeunesse Mère(s) et Monde de l’autrice canado-bosniaque Sanita Fejzić. 

Rejoignez-nous pour une rencontre sur Facebook le jeudi 18 juin à 19h avec Sanita Fejzić et Alain Boisvert, auteur de l’ouvrage Mépapasonlà (Editions David). 

Tiré du poème (M)other, récompensé par le CBC Poetry Prize en 2018, l’album jeunesse Mère(s) et monde se lit comme un cri du cœur de l’autrice, mère non biologique d’un garçon né d’un couple homoparental. 

Entre incidents chez le médecin ou à l’école, Sanita Fejzić s’élève contre l’hétéronormativité institutionnalisée de la société civile et dénonce les obstacles que rencontrent les familles homoparentales.

Résumé :
Non, mon fils n’a pas de père !
De la salle d’accouchement où son fils est né, jusqu’aux bancs de l’école, une femme à qui on refuse le statut de mère raconte : non, son fils n’a pas de père, mais il a deux mères. Elle est son autre mère. Il n’y a pas de case pour cela dans les formulaires. Pas de place pour cela dans la tête de ses pairs, ni des enfants qui jouent avec son fils dans la cour de l’école.
Ce récit, traduit d’un poème finaliste en 2018 du CBC Poetry Prize, raconte avec tendresse et justesse la difficulté des familles homoparentales à être acceptées pour ce qu’elles sont : des familles aimantes.

Biographies :
Sanita Fejzić est une auteure canado-bosniaque primée. Son premier livre, Psychomachia, en latin « combat de l’âme », a été finaliste pour le concours de nouvelles de Ken Klonsky ainsi que pour le prix Canada ReLit 2018. Fejzić a publié ses poèmes et ses nouvelles dans diverses revues littéraires canadiennes. En 2018, son poème « (M)other » a été finaliste du prix de poésie Radio-Canada. Fejzić est en train d’achever son doctorat à l’université de Queen en études culturelles.

Directeur du CCCNB (Campus de la Péninsule acadienne), Alain Boisvert est mieux connu pour son travail de reporter arts et spectacles à Radio-Canada à Toronto. Directeur général de La Nouvelle Scène (Ottawa), puis Directeur des communications au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, il a œuvré dans une quinzaine de pays en tournées internationales avec Up with People. Après avoir dirigé le Village historique de Kings Landing, il a également travaillé dans la fonction publique provinciale (ministère du Mieux-être, Culture et Sports).
Son premier roman, Mépapasonlà (Éditions David, 2016) a été accueilli avec enthousiasme par la critique. Alain Boisvert s’est vu décerner en juin 2016 le Prix Ambassadeur (Huguette Éva-Desjardins) du Conseil provincial des sociétés culturelles (CPSC), attribué à un organisme ou à une personne qui a fait preuve d’une grande sensibilité à l’égard du développement culturel au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Plus d’informations : Éditions Bouton d’or Acadie / Site de l’autrice

Lieu

Centre Culturel Canadien
130 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, Paris

Itinéraire
Carte non disponible